Viernes negro in What's Happening

  • Nov. 29, 2019, 5:38 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The girl in front of me at Wawa today waited in line to ask the cashier if it was okay if she returned a pack of gum without a receipt. The cashier said yes. The girl ran out to her car to get the gum. While she was out there the cashier was like “That’s a first.” I was still in line getting ready to pay for my stuff and the girl had already ran out to her car and came back in with the pack and put it on the counter.

It was an opened pack of gum.

Before even finishing to ring me up the cashier noticed it was opened and said to the girl “What’s wrong with it?” The girl was like “Nothing I just really need gas money.” Her voice reminded me of someone else I know. Someone I really like.

Me and the cashier gave her a telepathic facepalm. The cashier seemed annoyed by the situation and was telling her she would have to speak with the manager. I just extended my arm with the $10.00 I intended on paying for my stuff with and gave it to her. The gift wasn’t given so much in a friendly way; more of a “Jersey” way. Like I just lost a bet and owed it to her.


I’m not looking forward to Black Friday. I will probably just avoid going to any stores for the day. Something about saving money seems to trigger people’s Lizard Brain , their most primal way of thinking. It’s like they see a chance to obtain some survival resources (in this case mostly TVs) for a slightly lower cost and lose control of all the cognitive faculties that help them think rationally. These people must be less evolved.

These are the same savages that will wait in line for an hour because Taco Bell is giving out one free taco. How does someone’s brain even allow them to do that?


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.