Thanksgiving Eve in In the Meadow

  • Nov. 27, 2019, 3:47 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

We are getting ready for Thanksgiving. There is not much to do, since we are going to my stepsister’s place for dinner. I am bringing along a noodle and cheese casserole and a pumpkin pie. So I am lucky not to have too much to do. Because I am not having dinner at my place, I actually forgot this past weekend that Thursday was Thanksgiving. I went to the grocery store. Note to self: do not go to the grocery store on the weekend before Thanksgiving.

Kayla and Timmy are almost done with their college applications. They have one or two applications each left to do. They have just about decided that they are going away to college. Not extremely far, but far enough so that they will be living on campus. I moved to Syracuse the summer before sixth grade. By twelfth grade, I was ready to go away to college. Now we are living in basically a small town. I think the twins are ready to get out and experience more of life.

School is moving right along. Aaron has been going to the chess club meetings. He and I have been playing at home also. He wants to do downhill skiing this winter. There is a group that gets discount rates through the school.

The kids have been going to tutoring after school. It has helped them a lot this year. Their first marking period grades were good. We try to have a designated homework time.

Unfortunately my husband’s grandmother is not doing well. She is in her mid-nineties, so I suppose wellness is a relative term at her age. She has been losing quite a bit of weight and has had several episodes of passing out. She has still been able to maintain a fairly active lifestyle and do the things she likes. I know our time with her is limited and I am trying to enjoy it as much as I can.

Otherwise things have been going well. We don’t have any real plans for these next few days other than going to my stepsister’s for dinner. The Bills are playing on Thanksgiving so will probably watch a little bit of that.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.