Perpetually Drunk in What's Happening

  • Nov. 24, 2019, 6:37 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

A few Thanksgivings ago (2016) I left the country and went to Tokyo, Japan to spend the holiday. I actually made plans to meet with a pen-pal there that I was corresponding through snail mail with for years. She didn’t live there, she was going there for vacation. We decided it would be cool to meet up in person. Things were pretty decent. I felt like there was a good vibe between us.

Eventually we parted ways and continued the trip solo. I guess that’s what happens when two introverts meet up to hang out. I just suck at hanging out with other people one-on-one for a prolonged period of time without getting drunk. I think too much. My brain is like a runaway train when I’m sober. I can imagine it’s hard for other people to connect with me when it’s like that.

My close friends don’t seem to mind how unorganized my thoughts are or how often I space out. It doesn’t hurt that I often get drunk with most of my close friends too.

I found out a long time ago that being drunk 100% of the time is my ticket for living a normal social life. Even recently I was at a get-together where I could tell I wasn’t emitting a positive energy. Long story short - I slammed down a few strong drinks and ended up getting very drunk. I don’t remember much from that night, but my friend’s girlfriend messaged me the next day telling me that her friend was obsessed with how funny I was.

I have no problem with being perpetually drunk. It’s not feasible though. I only average about 2 drunk nights a week per month now. Most of that average is brought up during a one week span. This means I usually go about 3 weeks without drinking and then eventually let loose.

This entry reminds me of a Doug Stanhope bit.

Man, I really went off track there. I really wanted to write an entry about Thanksgiving. I’ll do that tomorrow.



No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.