Leaf Skydiving in What's Happening

  • Nov. 24, 2019, 1:46 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s morning.

Only the most stubborn leaves are left hanging on the tree out front of my house right now. The rest of the limbs are completely bare. The base of the tree is too far off to the side for me to see from where I’m sitting, so my front window frames this scene like a silhouette of blood vessels. Its backdrop is completely filled with a solid light gray from the sky.

Holding my coffee I happened to be focusing on a leaf during the exact moment it decided to surrender. It’s journey to the ground was so graceful to watch from inside my house. For a second I imagined the descend from the leaf’s perspective and I could feel its stress. I blinked myself back into reality and took another sip of my coffee.

Seeing the leaves retire can sometimes trigger a feeling of hopelessness.

Not for me though. I’m feeling pretty good this year.

I just bought a pole saw from Harbor Freight (a tool store). It’s like a little chain saw attached to a pole so you can reach branches that are high up and cut them down. I’m going to try it out today.


Last updated November 24, 2019


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.