To: The New Life in A New Beginning

  • Nov. 20, 2019, 12:37 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well.. I’m officially going through a divorce now and for as much as society tells me that I should be sad or lonely or something along those lines, I feel a huge relief to not be with her anymore. The daily stress of dealing with her emotions, wants, needs, projects that had crazy deadlines and same day issues and then just to deal with not being able to make any decisions without her input on everything i wanted to do or say. I’m over it, and i have been a robot that kept to myself for the last 3 years of our 7 year marriage. I’m 33 and finally now that i have a studio and have my days to myself now, FINALLY feel free for the first time in my life, i manage all my own expenses, i cut her out of everything with money, if she asks for help with money due to kids, then i still help her and i’m completely happy doing so, I’m civil when i talk with her, i haven’t even raised my voice this whole time. I moved out here to WA to be with her after she came here with our two kids to “visit her parents for the summer” and then never returned home. I sold our house in NY, quit my job and picked up a new job here and sold our vehicles and even packed everything that was important and brought it here on a truck and trailer. after a week of being her, she was back and forth on whether she even wanted to be with me, then after i applied for an apartment and got approved, she dumped me and didn’t want to try anymore, i found out that her high school sweety that’s been talking to her was actually driving that whole time from another state to come live with her and she just needed a place so she used me for that. I got a studio and moved in, sense then we have split the time with the kiddos and i pay her 1000/m for child support and i even got her a cheap car because she was furious that i sold her car without her permissions (it was in both our names and i couldn’t bring it with me) and i do know that logically she does need a car to get a job and help support the kids who are with her 90% of the time.
All in all though as the days go by I am happier and happier with my decision to not live with her, to have this life on my own again and just see my kids a few days a week. I’m stress free every single day and the other day she messaged me about how her new BF is bad at talking, talks down about the kids, and blah blah blah.. and i said “well, you’re an adult, figure it out, kick him out, it’s your place and he’s not working or anything, but that’s enough from me, this is your life now” and that was it, holy crap it feels good to talk to her like a normal person and not be worried about her life choices.
Last night i got in my apartments year-round hot tub and had a mix drink, then came back to my room and relaxed before getting a full nights uninterrupted sleep. My health is getting better, my sleep is better (no more getting woke up by her every night to do something or roll over or “your touching me and too hot” or anything!” I get the kids today :) I think i’ll plan something fun for us for a few hours. How do single people ever complain about this life?


TL November 21, 2019

Congratulations on your new relationship with yourself and to new beginnings.

SelfPartnered TL ⋅ November 21, 2019

Thanks man

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.