Chilled in Hello.

  • Nov. 19, 2019, 2:43 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m feeling pretty chilled and relaxed after yoga. I haven’t been for weeks because the classes always seem to clash with work. But today I could go. And I remembered why I love it so much. I come out feeling light as a feather, but also like I’ve had a complete workout. My mind is clear and I’m in that sleepy snuggly phase where I feel like a glass of wine might just make me drop off.
If we’re friends on Facebook, you probably already know I got my permanent work contract! Our new manager, Anthony, started a couple of weeks ago and my supervisor, Esme, was pushing head office to make a decision either way because it wasn’t fair on me. The day after Anthony had been shadowing Esme, Esme called me up to the office. Well, she said “can I have a word in the office”, which everyone knows is the sentence that fills everyone’s heart with dread! But when we got there, she spun around with a piece of paper in her hands, big grin on her face and said “LOOK!” There, in black and white, 22.5 hours a week contract! I’ve actually been on those hours since I started, but I don’t think I’ve actually done three days yet, it’s usually 4 or 5. It means that during the quieter off season, I’m guaranteed three days a week. So that’s fab!
It’s given me brand new energy for my job. I was starting to get weary, wondering why I should bother if I’m just going to leave at the end of the year. Everyone, with the best intentions, kept saying “oh, they’re bound to keep you on!” which was getting on my nerves a bit if I’m honest. As nice as they thought they were being, I needed to know either way!
Anyway, we’ve opened up a new room which talks a lot more about the casking of whisky. I’ve learnt so much from it and I’m enjoying doing my own research into it. Before that room opened, we’d take guests into the film room, show them a film, I’d talk briefly on production then take them into the distillery to show them the production in action. I hated it because I was just repeating myself. I took an executive decision and decided to stop doing the talk in the film room, instead expanding on my talking in the production area and then spend a while in the casking room. My tour now lasts exactly an hour, so I’m very happy. And I’m learning as I’m going as well!
Anthony seems to be tightening up a few loose ends. Fresh eyes and all that. The best thing he’s done so far is change the way lunch is served. Up until now, we had to go into the kitchen when our shift started and ask them for a staff lunch at lunchtime. They didn’t always know what the food was and it wasn’t necessarily ready when we went in anyway, so I stopped ordering it, opting to take in my own food.
Now the food is served on hot plates in the boardroom kitchen and we can help ourselves. It’s only been going two days so far and seems to be working well.


Bomb Shell November 19, 2019

Do they have a vegan or veggie option for you?

Babe In Toyland Bomb Shell ⋅ November 19, 2019

Nah, but there's usually chips and another veg. I'm not that fussy, chips, peas and gravy with no pie is adequate for me!

Babe In Toyland Bomb Shell ⋅ November 19, 2019

(I have an emergency tin of soup just in case!)

Perpetually Plump November 19, 2019

Fantastic!!! Congratulations! O watched a documentary on Netflix recently about Scotch, and it totally made me think of you. I've also been getting into American Whiskey as of late, and I think it'd be the bee's knees to learn more about whiskey, in general (American being small distillers...not ant big label Jim Beam or What have yous).

~Twinkle~ November 20, 2019

Congratulations! X

Lucretia November 26, 2019

Congratulations on the contract, that's great news! And they feed you too, that also rocks.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.