Monday morning suc.... in It's a llittle llazy over here

  • Nov. 17, 2019, 7:52 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

… wait, did I do that last time?

I did.

Llamas were awesome. Llamas are always awesome.

We now have the money to look to move house. This is mildly scary. For now, it’s the ‘get the house vaguely ready’ stage, so we have some paint ready and I took the first box of miscellaneous crap to the tip today. We’re working on the basis that if something’s been in the cupboard for seven years and it has no sentimental value, then it goes. The amount of electrical garbage that you stockpile is truly amazing.

In an attempt to undo all that work, I’m picking up the parts for my second self-put-together guitar… the llamacaster mk1 is a beautiful sounding kit guitar, but I messed up a lot of things and I think I’ve snapped the truss rod trying to get the action right (it was not a good neck; unsurprising with an 89 quid ebay kit). I’ve got a new body and neck to work with now but i may wait until after we move house before I put everything together....

The gym is working out fairly well - I can manage to run 3 or 4 times during the week, which would never, ever happen otherwise.

Work is dull. Nothing much exciting is happening. I get to be a career coach at work, which is bloody awful for all concerned. Basically means I do the peer review process for them, but I’m not their line manager - kind of a sensible division of responsibility because in theory at least it means I can look after them as people without having a conflict of interests where I might need them to do stuff that isn’t good for them.

One of my people is the invisible frickin’ man. He doesn’t answer emails. I put in a regular meeting with him and he’s just ignored the invite. I emailed him about it and he’s just ignored the email. Very nice man, though, I just suspect he’s not much bothered about anything except doing the day job, which I tooootally endorse as long as he understands that the consequences of that is a low rating..... The issue is with people who think the world owes them a good rating.

Eh, that’s work. Work is dull.

I haven’t written anything in ages. It feels a bit like when I took almost a year out having written 20,000 words of the last book. Then I re-read what I’d written and it was kind of shocking because it really felt like it was.... good. That’s when I got back into it.

Going to read back as much of The Star Thing and the Smile as I’ve written so far. It got derailed by my failed storytelling youtube channel experiment but I had got quite a way in. I may also clean up some of the better short stories I wrote for the channel and see if there’s anywhere I can submit them.

Speaking of books..... At university I wrote my first book. The only surviving copy has been sitting in our cupboard for ages and tomorrow it comes to work with me to be thrown in the confidential waste, there to be shredded into oblivion once and for all.

I read it back the other day and holy cows was it bad. I mean, like, awful. The kind of thing that the devil wouldn’t read to authors in hell as a punishment because there are dark literary places that even Satan doesn’t want to go to. The world will be a better place without it.

Yes. I think at thus point I’m writing stuff just so I don’t have to go to bed. It’s nearly 2am. Tomorrow’s going to be rough....


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.