Freedom FROM Religion in God, With Skin On

  • Nov. 15, 2019, 6:39 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I find it interesting that the same amendment that gives us Freedom of Religion would, if read correctly, might and should give us the Freedom FROM religion. But I digress. My point this morning, is that the Constitution does not guarantee Freedom of Christianity, it does not even contain the word Christianity and I believe that was by design of our Founding Fathers.
Much like this whole “politically correct” crap, I don’t agree with many of the religions that are practiced around the world, but that right was so important to Washington, Franklin, Hancock, Madison, and Monroe that they felt it need to be stated.
Washington, Jefferson, Franklin, Madison, and Monroe—practiced a faith called Deism. Deism is a philosophical belief in human reason as a reliable means of solving social and political problems. A treaty of peace and friendship between the United States and Tripoli that was approved by George Washington explicitly stated: “The government of the United States is not in any sense founded on the Christian religion…”
Does that offend me? Nope. Does it change my views on my religious beliefs? No. One of the lost arts in this country is the ability to think for one’s self. It does nothing to my belief system if you disagree with mine. But I will say, I have more questions than answers on most days.


woman in the moon November 15, 2019

My high school nuns wanted separation of church and state because they thought establishment of a religion would hurt them and take away their rights to practice their own faith. There is no guarantee that Christianity (which has many and diverse forms) is going to be the official religion and it's very unlikely your form of Christianity gets picked. Plus over time government and churches change as well as the people who support them.

Douglas Kinney woman in the moon ⋅ November 18, 2019

All valid points. But like me, so many were taught to believe this country was founded strictly on Christian principles. They just never pointed out which ones. And as you point out, there are so many. (Of course, mine is the only correct one, Just kidding!)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.