Just Forgiven in God, With Skin On

  • Nov. 14, 2019, 9:14 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Matthew 5:45 states, “For he makes his sun rise on the evil and on the good, and sends rain on the just and on the unjust.” In simple terms like it or not, some good people suffer and some bad people prosper. And many “Christians” don’t like it.
A little sidebar here, If you come to my house and want to be treated with respect, then do the same and treat me with respect. If you can’t do that then please stay at home. And the same applies here. Don’t come to my post just to argue.
For some unknown reason, people think that Christians are perfect, never make mistakes and are better than anyone else. Okay, I get it, there are some preachers and churchgoers who believe that, but please don’t lump me or all Christians into one size fits all.
The last time I look in my mirror I was still human and the last time I examined my heart I had some problems that I need to deal with. It doesn’t make me any better or any worse than the next person. I still live in the same world and under the same influences and temptations that the rest of the world does. I am just forgiven. There is no “S” inscribed on my chest for “Super Christian” Perhaps if there was it would be for “Sinner”.
And I struggle with why I see good people die from Cancer, Dementia, Alzheimers and any other number of terrible ways to die. And when it happens to someone I know and love even more so. And I have my days of doubt, I have my days of fear, and I have may days of faith…
I am reminded of a post I see on Facebook every year about this time.
I don’t understand what the big deal is..If your Jewish tell me, Happy Hanukka
If your Christain tell me, Merry Christmas
If your African American tell me, Joyous Kwanzaa
If you don’t prefer any of those tell me, Happy Holidays
I will not be offended I will be grateful that you took the time to say something nice to me.

As Kenny Chesney sings, Can’t We Just Get Long?


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.