Mr Graul and the Mannequin ... St. Peter and Paul Raffle in Misc. Thoughts opinions, the whole trash can.

  • March 11, 2014, 12:48 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

How can I explain this? This was the mannequins last stand. It all works out, and I was a part of the plan.

St Peter and Paul Catholic church, was having a raffle fundraiser and pot luck. Mrs. Graul was very catholic, and very proper, and went to Mass on Friday and Sunday. How these two found each other, God Bless, only He knows.

It was early summer, June perhaps, and there was to be a raffle and fund raiser for the church. Mr Graul, was always gracious, and supplied parts of the prizes to be given away. He rarely attended, but did what was needed. He donated flowers, to the altar, one week each month, and yes I delivered a lot of them.

St Peter and Paul Catholic Church raffle summer 1969:

The plot thickens and the mannequin is part of the plan. The raffle, is on for Saturday night. Mr Graul calls Hillcrest Appliance, one of his store front renters. He says "I'll be over with two of my people. I need a refrigerator in the $500 to $600 range. I'll pay for it and you give me a certificate. If the winner wants to further upgrade, they can use the voucher and spend the extra money". John Mudget, was the owner, and Mr Graul, Marty, and I show up at Hillcrest Appliance 200 pm. It was two minute walk. Mr Graul pays for the refrigerator. Mr Mudget says "Can I borrow your "kid", to deliver this today?" Mr Graul says "NO, but this is what I need from you. You can use him (me) when the winner is picked". He relates what he is going to do, and all we need right now is the empty box, and packing pallet.

Marty and I grab the box and packing pallet, plus the hardware that held the refrigerator into place. This was going to look like the real thing. The mannequin in all her "slutty glory", is placed in the box, along with the ratty fur coat. It looks just like a new boxed fridge, ready for the lucky winner.

We load two trucks, the boxed mannequin, and flowers for the raffle and the Sunday service. All courtesy of Mr and Mrs Graul. We place the flowers where they want them and, tell them we have a fridge, donated by Mr Graul for the raffle. Wow, the fund raiser women's committee was there, a few elders were there and the parish priest was there. I tell Marty, its a good thing we won't be here, Mrs Graul is going to have a fit. We bring the box down stairs, on a borrowed dolly, from Hillcrest Appliance. We act like it is heavy as we "struggle" down the 20 steps to the basement. "place it over there, please and thank Mr Graul, for us for this wonderful donation". "Yes maam." We leave and head back to the shop. I return the dolly back to Mr. Mudget.

The day comes to a close, leaving Mr Graul and his practical joke to play out.

800 pm St. Peter & Paul:

The fundraiser started at 700 pm. It is well attended, and some of my mothers customers are there as well. There is a buzz about the refrigerator, and the other prizes. They make a good bit of money, for the cost of the tickets. Time for the drawing, before the potluck is served. Mr Graul has the voucher, to hand to the lucky winner, after the mannequin is revealed.

The raffle is now ready to pick for the lucky winner of the fridge. Tickets are in hand, and the Parish priest, does the honors and announces the lucky ticket. The winner comes forth, and surrenders the lucky ticket, and receives a box cutter to open the prize. We had drawn cut lines, so as not to damage the precious cargo inside. The lucky winner, opens the box... there is a gasp, of horror and surprise. The mannequin !!! and the winner grabs the mannequin, and dashes off to the parking lot. Mr Graul tries to catch him, to retrieve the mannequin and give him his voucher for the real prize. Too late, he has taken the mannequin and left the parking lot. The winner was not a part of the congregation. No one knew him. That was the last time the mannequin was seen.

Mr Graul comes back in, the place is abuzz, and I'll bet Mrs. Graul is major pissed. He grabs the microphone, and says I guess that didn't go as planned. BUT!! I have the $600 voucher here for the real refrigerator, and we'll redraw for another winner. All the tickets were regathered and a new winner was picked , and received the voucher. Weeks later, I was asked by Mr Graul, to go over to Hillcrest Appliance and help Mr. Mudget deliver the prize.


MageB March 16, 2014

Great stuff.

Brakeshoe Bob March 16, 2014

Thanks ... Mr Graul passed away in 2002.. My mother passed in 2012. All good. Great memories .. I have some more Mr Graul stuff... I write the railroad stuff as I remember...again my thanks

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.