If/Then in Magical Realism

  • March 11, 2014, 9:12 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Thursday was a long one at work so I had to skip the gym and met up with A at our usual sushi place around 9pm. I took a taxi from the office because I had my big bag for the gym, plus a bag of work stuff for the next day. Bah. A had edamame and a large glass of sake waiting for me...yum yum yum. We both ordered miso soup because it was freeeeezing outside. He got a bunch of rolls and I had a sashimi plate with hamachi, tuna, salmon, and hamachi. So good. A got a sake tasting flight and I had another glass of my regular stuff, and it was just so good to sit down and reflect on the week, even though we were both completely exhausted. For the first time ever, we went straight home after dinner, although once we got him we realized that A had left his work bag at the restaurant! I'd blame it on the sake but I think we just had too many bags between us. Bag people!

I had a fairly leisurely Friday morning since I was working out of a different office and didn't have any meetings until 10am. I blew out my hair, put makeup on, and even packed a healthy lunch. Then I ended up going out to lunch with a colleague who happened to be in town and completely left that healthy and delicious lunch in the office fridge. Bah. My meeting that was supposed to end at 3:30pm ended at 5pm instead, and I had to rush home to meet my friend Allison for drinks downtown by 6pm.

Luckily the place we were meeting, Bobo (http://bobonyc.com/) is just a short walk from home so I had time to drop my bag, change out of work clothes and even brush my hair. Ran into A on the way home which was nice too, because I didn't see him again until 4am! It was seriously supposed to be a quick drink and I end up staying out all night. On one hand it was good, because I never go out on Fridays and it was a TON of fun (we went to a few places after Bobo including Bell Book & Candle (http://bbandcnyc.com), which I loved) and on the other hand it was NOT good because I had a ton of things to do the next day. Irresponsible.

So of course I slept in the next day, only barely making it up in time to meet my mom to see "If/Then" (http://www.ifthenthemusical.com) It was very nice to see my mom but I had very mixed feelings on the show. On one hand it was like a thirtysomething "Rent" mixed with "Sliding Doors" but I think it made my expectations too high. Idina Menzel was her usual powerhouse self and some of the supporting cast was perhaps even better. Plus the music was absolutely lovely - I would still recommend it. Rest of the weekend was good but uneventful and I worked from home yesterday.

This morning was good, woke up early to the sound of an owl cooing (probably weird for NYC but there is definitely at least one that lives in our courtyard trees, we hear him/them a lot in the spring. Either way, it beats NYPD knocking on my door!) Got washed and dressed while A was showering and when I turned on the radio the very beginning of "Hypnotize" (pretty much my favorite song ever) was just starting. After getting ready I walked to subway with A, which we hardly ever do on weekday mornings. On the way we saw a beautiful husky puppy, a train was just coming in as I came down the stairs, and a musician got on playing "Raindrops on Roses and Whiskers on Kittens..." on the saxophone. A good start to my Tuesday morning!


pandora March 11, 2014

A good start to the morning, indeed!! Love that.

dickson. March 11, 2014

:)

~Mrs. O~ March 11, 2014

Sounds like a great weekend/start to the week! =)

BlueEyedDevil March 11, 2014

I love the start to your morning. Happy Tuesday! :)

sarahbaby. March 11, 2014

"Hypnotize" is so good! How is it so good.

Shortbus Puppy March 11, 2014

I love your life. I want it. ;p Creepy, I know.

nightborn March 11, 2014

Aren't those impromptu nights out always the best - ones where we think we're in for a tame drink or two, and then somehow end up at a crazy middle-of-nowhere latenight place at 3 AM! Haven't had one of those in a while. :)

Hope the rest of your day has been just as good.

sarafina March 11, 2014

My pretentious aunt is always raving about bobo, so your reference made me laugh a little :)

LeftisRight March 12, 2014

:) it's the little things in life!

dancerd March 13, 2014

Fun!

aglow March 14, 2014

OH DANG IDINA. Homegirl has PIPES; what did you think of her performance at the Oscars, BTW?

Satine aglow ⋅ March 15, 2014

Did not see but assume was great. She is NYC theatre royalty!

Deleted user March 16, 2014

you've made me crave sushi at 6:19 am.

Incognito Angel March 18, 2014

I saw If/Then last week and felt very meh about it. It was a little to formulaic and predictable, and Gwen did it better in Sliding Doors. But I also saw Kinky Boots two days before so the bar was set pretty damn high.

dancerd September 18, 2014

:)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.