Good and bad in Daily life

  • Nov. 6, 2019, 5:01 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The good is that insurance found, per my suggestion, a really nice 3 bedroom apartment that if it had gas cooking, I would be tempted to stay 😆😆. Short-term lease is for 4 months and hopefully will not have to extend it. Bad news, my clothes are gone, can’t get the smoke smell out. Have bought a few outfits as I started work part-time Monday. It is not so fun shopping for new clothes because I need EVERYTHING and it is exhausting. I am being discriminating I. What I am getting and accepting of donations. Cats are settling in ok.

Bad news is I have no health insurance thanks to SS never receiving my application for Part Beffective Oct 1. I had appliked for SS in September but did not need Part B until Oct 1. SS has no record of my application, therefore myapplication for a supplemental insurance was denied. I will have Part B effective december 1 but I was supposed to have a procedure in November. Am trying to reschedule that for December and just pay the additional 20% unless the dr says I can push it off to January.

Started work Monday and that was even a fiasc because HR wanted ID n the form of a passport—like who,carries that around OR in the alternative a dr license AND birth cert or SS card–again, who carries that around. Of course can only do the new starts on a Monday so I went home and got my passport and SS card. Then I went to SS office and sat there an hour to make sure they had me signed for Part B effective December—arg!

Anyway all is working out, my work is I can work whatever hours I need to in November because the court schedule is pretty flexible and I still have house insurance appoint, etc.

The house is a row house and my neighbors to the right of me, her insurance company came out today to see the cause of the fire. Our adjuster says it is standard procedure but it still was upsetting to me but I have to realize it is all a game to them. My insurance company is cutting us a check for what I have spent so far on replacement clothes, toiletries, etc. Yes insurance will cover a lot but it doesn’t ever really cover all the other little incidental things that come up, never mind the emotional cost. I keep reminding myself that we were not hurt and all are safe including the cats and that is the most important thing, everything else is irrelevant.

Thanks for reading this and your thoughts, prayers and wishes, it is all most appreciated, you have no idea.


ConnieK November 06, 2019

What a streak of challenges you've had to face! Social Security doesn't automatically enroll you in Medicare or vice versa. At least work hours are flexible! Fire damage claims usually go through smoothly, but yeah, incidentals add up and of course, there's depreciation.

Queensuzu1 ConnieK ⋅ November 07, 2019

Hospital Medicare went smoothly, it was the Part B that got screwed up. Hopefully everything is straightened out now. Itemizing things is going to be a pain especially since we haven't received a contents list yet.

Jinn November 07, 2019

Thoughts and prayers sent . Hugs too . That is a lot of stress , all at once. I know you will come through this but it takes a great deal of strength and energy . So glad you and the cats are okay . Make a wardrobe you love :-)

Queensuzu1 Jinn ⋅ November 07, 2019

Am being very discriminating as to what I buy, of course that limits what I have to choose from and I have to do laundry more often. It is a good thing I am only working 3 days a week, I have enough clothes for that. I am most paranoid about the cats, especially Otis, scratching the furnishings. I bought a spray and double sided tape and clipped his claws but that is difficult to do with him. Bought a cat tree to see if that will help altho he never used what we had, this one is more tree-like so we shall see. Do you have any other suggestions?

Jinn Queensuzu1 ⋅ November 07, 2019

No, I think you have done everything I could think of :-) If there was a catnip spray to spray your cat tree or maybe you could make one by soaking catnip in water then spray the cat tree :-) Good Luck !

Queensuzu1 Jinn ⋅ November 08, 2019

Thanks, the tree should come today and I will make sure to get more catnip. I will let you know how it goes.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.