When I was just a baby, my mama told me son-njm 3 in Usual Shenanigans

  • Nov. 4, 2019, 5:03 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Always be a good boy, don’t ever play with guns.
Folsom Prison Blues-The one and only man in black, Johnny Cash

What song are you most thankful for?

Well Folsom Prison Blues. I’m sure you could see that coming from the title. My Grandpa Gray, my mom’s dad used to sing Johnny Cash throughout the day when I was up north visiting him and my Granny, and we would play Hand and Foot(a card game) at their kitchen table & he would hum and sing parts of this song as he was playing or waiting for others to make their play. My grandpa has been gone 13 years as of September, and I can still close my eyes and be transported back to their house in northern Minnesota. We would be sitting at their table, my Grandpa with his pack of smokes in his chest pocket which used to hold his bride’s Juicy Fruit gum and a cigarette in his mouth. He would hold his hand close to his chest through most of a round and then out of nowhere it would seem, he would pull out that Cheshire cat grin of his, say “No more Mr. Nice Guy, Meggy.” and go out the next hand. So grateful for the Man in Black, the weeks spent up north on Royal Estates and hanging out with my grandparents along with my cousins. I wouldn’t trade those memories for anything in the world. My grandparents will always be the ones I look up to and love the most, they are the ones I’ve always known would accept me with open arms even if I was arguing or in a fight with my parents or anyone else.

If you have grandparents here still, hug them, love them and learn from them.

love you all,
xo.
meghan.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.