Can't Sleep in What's Happening

  • Oct. 31, 2019, 12:35 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I gave into the urge to take a nap after work today and now I am wide awake at 12:45am.

It’s week 3 of the 8 weeks of orientation classes that my new job is making me go through and it’s wearing me down more than if I was doing actual physical work. They go through the material so fast that it is impossible to retain it. Each segment has a test at the end.

My new tactic is to just write down everything as quickly as I can from each slide and then reference my notes while I’m taking the test as if I’m just seeing all this information for the first time. I would say that my retention rate is probably about 0%. I’m using almost no intellect at all during these classes.

I was really struggling on a couple of the tests. I decided to just leave the ones I didn’t know blank and hope that the person I was swapping papers with during the grading would fill them in for me.

He did.

I’ve been fixing a lot of his answers too. We haven’t acknowledged the fact that we been giving each other 100s on the test even though we both know that we are doing it. It’s probably better that way. I still have to try my best to pass each test on my own because you never know when the instructors might want to grade them themselves.

Today’s drive home was a new level of insanity. The traffic was so bad that instead of getting frustrated my body went into a state of zen. I became one with traffic.

Every time I think I’ve experienced the apex of shitty commuter traffic, life comes through like a proud waiter lifting a big shiny cloche and serving a fresh platter of even shittier traffic.

My total commute time for tonight was a record-breaking two and half hours.

I’m gonna try to squeeze in another couple hours of sleep tonight and head out of here around 4:30am. I’ll be back Friday night.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.