*pant pant huff puff* in crawling into 2014.

  • March 10, 2014, 6:37 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Guess what! I just broke the ten minute mile! That Roger Bannister bloke has nothing on me!

Tangent - I've walked across the very (albeit resurfaced) track that he ran his sub four minute mile on...

I was given the go ahead to train properly last Monday so on Tuesday morning I figured I would see how fast I could run a mile. It turned out that the answer was slowly... I did it in 10 min 38 seconds. When running several miles I don't mind that but when it's just one mile I would prefer to do in a faster time....

Cue dreamy music as my eyes turn upwards, to the left and a nostalgic smile plays upon my lips...

When I was in my twenties I could run several miles at less than a nine minute mile pace sigh

CLICK and I'm back in reality. I'm in my forties now but I still like to break through the ten minute barrier and this morning, for the first time since I was allowed to run again in December (this was following a nine month hiatus due to plantar fasciitis) I broke that sucker like polystyrene in a room full of excited kids.

I would like to give all my thanks to mum, dad, my manag... Oh bollocks to that, my thanks go to Parov Stellar who assisted my miracle run, my 9 minute 53 second run by playing the bounciest music in my ears throughout!

And now I must gracefully move away from the stage, allow the next recipients their moment of stardom, while I take my overactive endorphins and allow them to have a calming bath.


~Twinkle~ March 10, 2014

Brilliant! Well done you! I'm not sure I could run a mile under 10 minutes! X

thesunnyabyss March 10, 2014

awesomeness!!!

salty*dog March 10, 2014

LOL! You're awesome. :)

ElvenAssassin March 10, 2014

Way to go!

Darcy0207 from OD March 10, 2014

congrats! You made your goal!

Deleted user March 10, 2014

Nice! That's pretty awesome. Also, endorphins rule! Sometimes they almost feel like Percocet to me.

Deleted user March 10, 2014

Well done. I miss my 20s bit that is life

Deleted user March 10, 2014

Jajaja, eres fantástica! :-* Go you!

Life Is For Living March 12, 2014

Woohoo!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.