For Linda in Daily

  • Oct. 23, 2019, 10:58 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

A couple of months ago, Linda wrote about injuring her toe. I left the note below about my own toe trauma.

“In my old apartment, we had a chair that I was always kicking my pinkie toe on. I’d stub that toe, limp away, forget for a little while, then injure the same stupid toe on the same stupid chair over and over. It was so bad I had a bruise on the top of my foot.

So don’t be like me. Guard that toe and don’t hit it again on the same thing. …or maybe make a bonfire out of the hard corner thingie. : )”

I was going through old photos for P’s memorial and found this one of the chair that tried to take my toe off:

$300 per month in 2000 dollars

This was taken in late 2000. If you zoom in, you can see that fancy computer had both a 3.5” floppy drive AND an internal zip drive.


Last updated October 23, 2019


Serin October 24, 2019

(grin) zip drives were cool at that point

WeAreStarStuff Serin ⋅ October 24, 2019

Oh, man. I can remember hanging out after closing time at my college work study job in the computer center.

I had the T1 all to myself and would download music from Napster and take it home on Zip disks.

Serin WeAreStarStuff ⋅ October 24, 2019

I'd call you a nerd, but I was in my lab downloading all 30 or 40 linux floppies.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.