Homeowners in Public

  • Oct. 21, 2019, 4:12 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, we’re homeowners. Have been for about a week. So far things are not great. Not horrible but not great either. We’ve got a leak in our living room ceiling, no water pressure in the kitchen sink, and our dryer doesn’t work. The dryer, itself, works, but there is apparently no electricity going to that outlet. or something.

The plumber will be here Thursday, the electrician will be here Wendesday. So, I’m starting to feel hopeful.

We are enjoying the home renovations though. Liam’s really been working hard, between his actual work and the house stuff he’s been an absolute machine. I’ve been so-so. I have been operating in both the house and AirBnB. We’re slowly moving off the island and by slowly, I mean, one SUV trip at a time. Last night we brought over a lot of the kitchen/pantry items, some clothing and our bikes.

My plan today is to have dinner here and the head back to the island and get some more done there. Finish up laundry, get the beds stripped, wash the sheets and remake the beds. Plus packing up more clothing and the books. I will probably stay the night at the AirBnB (it’s a 2 hour round trip), but we’ll see. We have until the last day of October to be done on the island. I am heading to PA on Friday morning. I would like to be mostly done over there by Thursday. We’ll see.

The house is lovely, and I’m trying to be happy and just let these inconveniences slide off my back but I’m angry that things that should have been done before we closed aren’t done.

We have a lot of boxes to get sorted and taken to the dump. Might be more advantageous to sleep here tonight and stop at the dump in the morning.

That’s our exciting life.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.