Possible Strike in What's Happening

  • Oct. 18, 2019, 6:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m back at my house in South Jersey for the weekend. I have internet here. I’m not sure if we are going to get internet access at the apartment in North Jersey. I might just see how much it cost for a phone plan to turn my phone into a hot spot just so I can use my laptop every once in a while instead of trying to do everything on my phone. I’d also like to be able to keep doing the EDX courses I started while I was laid off.

I got hired at my new job during the worst possible time ever. The union is in the middle of contract negotiations with the plant right now and they aren’t going so well. There are talks that they might go on strike. If they go on strike I have to go on strike too even though I just started there this week. Instead of getting the $550/week check from unemployment that I was getting I will get $125/week from the union if we go on strike. This situation is less than ideal considering that money won’t even cover the amount the apartment cost me that I’m ONLY renting because I got that job.

I’m not going to sweat it too much though. There isn’t anything I can do about it.


Last updated October 18, 2019


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.