Arrogance - 03.02.14 in Your Face

  • March 8, 2014, 9:56 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Watching old episodes of The Office and rolling my eyes at Jim and Pam being upset at 12 weeks apart (a TWO HOUR DRIVE apart). 12 weeks would be a fucking cake walk! I'm such an asshole. Such a pathetic asshole.

M and I are friends again. Great. Beats fighting, at least.

Sunday is quiet. Bedroom clean, closet organised, two boxes taped, measured and weighed. I lay in bed for a while until I fell asleep.

Dinner last night with friends was nice. I am sick to death of talking about moving, though. I am aware that most of my friends are living their ideal lives, and that the idea of someone moving countries seems to be this huge, amazing deal but it doesn't have to be all that we ever talk about. Everyone else gets to talk about their jobs, hobbies, what they've been up to lately, all I get to talk about is where I'll be living and what I plan to do for work, which is exactly what I got to talk about LAST time, and obviously wasn't listened to. And for the record, New Mexico is a state in the US, it is NOT MEXICO. Apparently when I say that it's next to Texas, that's not enough clarification, because 90% of people don't have any idea where Texas OR Mexico are, but I'm mentioning a place that has "Mexico" in it, so I must be going to Mexico. Then comes the questions about whether my greencard will allow me to work in Mexico. WHY WOULD I GET A GREENCARD FROM THE UNITED STATES IF I WAS GOING TO LIVE IN MEXICO? WHY THE FUCK WOULD I NEED PERMISSION FROM THE UNITED STATES AT ALL IF I AM APPARENTLY GOING TO LIVE IN MEXICO? I'm seriously facing an uphill battle here, every fucking day.

I don't expect everyone to know everything, but if you ask me a question and I answer it, at least listen to the fucking answer.

Then, of course, there are the assholes who like to tell me that they think America's shit, they'd never move there for all the money in the world, what a stupid decision I'm making. Well, last time I checked, I wasn't ASKING you to come with me. Thanks for your opinion about a country you've never actually been to. And for the record, moving to America was never a life goal of mine, but being married to an American, and having lived in both countries, I have made my decision based on preference. MY preference, not yours. So, when you do decide to take your Contiki tour to North America (which is inevitable), don't bother knocking on my door.

"Oh, you live in New South Wales? So you're from Wales? You're Welsh?"

Faaarrrk.


Daisy Mae March 08, 2014

Lol - sorry! Some of this is close to my heart having moved from the UK to the US.

Daisy Mae March 08, 2014

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.