Done. in General

  • Oct. 16, 2019, 7:19 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I finished all of my course work and am technically done, but I will check in a few time from the road. Assuming wifi is available in Best Western.

Bud in Pittsburg knows my schedule. Mancub knows my schedule. I texted him I would need help finding a Best Western or Holiday Inn Express close. His answer? “Ok.” There certainly is some warrior in there. That kid can out stoic me.

I lay in bed last night, pondering the universe. I finally realized there are two me’s.

When I was deployed I was all business. There were times I didn’t even allow myself to laugh. I did, in the confidence of the cockpit. Everyone wanted to be in my crew. Everyone in my last two squadrons wanted to be crewed with me. When I came home I expected full reassurance of who I was. Unfortunately I was not the same person who married either of my wives, nor were they. I have always sucked at relationships. I guess that is why I finally quit trying.

At work? I was competent. I was smart. I knew how to plan. I was an expert in everything. The best training in the world for database design is mastering the EA-6B software tree.

When I was building the DDG-1000 wiring database audit module I was complimented by an actual database engineer. “This is fucking elegant.” I said “Thanks?”

My purpose was to get as much use out of the fewest lines of code I could. Hundreds of hours of staring at the EA-6B software tree did that.

I wonder if I could still do that. Every Sunday I eat breakfast with High School friends. And there are times we can’t remember details of movies without google.

Time moves on. We were joking last Sunday that we are within a decade of Social Security.

How in the fuck did that happen? The first generation younger than rock ‘n roll has grey beards.

I’ll check in from the road here as well. Or not. I am expecting some laughs in Pittsburg.


woman in the moon October 16, 2019

I was at the VA today and met a F-14 mechanic who talked about leaks - when the plan was hot it was tight, when cold it leaked. I wasn't thinking of you. Had I been I would have listened more closely.

Duke woman in the moon ⋅ October 16, 2019

Tomcats leaked like crazy! Prowlers weren't quite as dribbly, but our birds had their days.

Jinn October 17, 2019

Have a fun, safe trip !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.