The Last Breakfast in Magical Realism

  • Oct. 18, 2019, 9:25 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

We knew it was bound to happen. In a cute but shabby part of Manhattan’s West Village, sandwiched between upscale lingerie shops, an English tea parlour, and the sleek flagship Equinox gym, was a sweet little neighborhood diner called The Village Den. The type of place that had been there for years. Simple menu, cozy tables, a big window to the street and outdoor sidewalk tables in nice weather. The kind of place you could stay a while, read the newspaper, or dine outdoors with your dog at your feet.

The staff was efficient and warm, but not overly friendly. Upon sitting down you’d be offered coffee and poured an icy glass of New York City tap water. The coffee would come almost immediately, served in sturdy white mugs. Nothing special, but I still remember the warm weight of those mugs, cradled in my cupped hands.

We would almost always come in the morning, sometimes at the weekend if we happened to wake up early, or even before work sometimes if we needed to take a minute to reconnect before the workday started. We took friends from all over the world here after cold swims. So many memories, not many that stand out in particular, just a warm, welcoming place, a place to sit and watch the world go by.

A usually had the same thing, a sesame toasted bagel with butter, with a side of bacon. Sometimes a belgian waffle with bacon, or a panini depending on his mood. I always ordered the same thing, two eggs over easy, rye toast with butter, which came with homefries. Sometimes it came with a tiny glass of fresh squeezed grapefruit juice. Even if we had the exact same thing, even just a day or two apart, the price was slightly different each time. $17.02. $16.50. $16.89. We always laughed at this and tried to guess the number.

There was a mural, a re-imagining of “The Last Supper” with various New York celebs, and I think, the owner in the middle. I never met him, and the only celeb I ever noticed there was Laverne Cox. It was one of those quirky local things. Not beautiful, not clever, but something specific. And comfortable.

I don’t remember our last breakfast there. The sign went up suddenly. I don’t even remember if we knew a few days in advance, or just came home one day to find it closed. It felt like the end of an era. We knew it was bound to happen.

Then a new sign went up. Windows blocked out with a slick printed sign. “Better “Den” you remember.” I was hopeful. Maybe it was just being renovated and would come back in a slightly sleeker incarnation with higher prices? Nope. It turned out to be…kind of trendy-ish, cafe-ish, healthy-ish? One of those renovations that take away the scruff and coziness without adding gloss or interest. Menu wasn’t super appealing, it was usually mostly empty, and when people were there, all the patrons looked miserable, framed in the window. A was dead-set against it, but one day I finally made plans with a girlfriend to have lunch there. I walked in, but they were closed for some photoshoot. We went to Cafe Cluny instead but afterwards I googled and learned that the new Village Den was a project of Antoni Porowski. And since you asked…that is how the hot guy from the new Queer Eye series ruined my favorite neighborhood diner.


Last updated February 08, 2020


Red October 18, 2019

Ugh, that sucks! shakes fist at the sky

dickson. October 18, 2019

Ugh. How unfortunate :(

.bob October 18, 2019

It's so sad when those reliable places disappear. They're these little buoys in our busy lives. Maybe Antoni needs some feedback! I am a big fan of a the strongly worded letter when it comes to the service industry.

Adira October 18, 2019

Well that's depressing. Fuck that guy LOL

Deleted user October 18, 2019

Damn it.

Deleted user October 18, 2019

Disappearing New York...

Jigger October 18, 2019

Well, shit. Sometimes I hate the march of time.

edna million October 18, 2019

Oh, how sad!!! I've never actually watched the new Queer Eye - I loved the original one so much that I can't work up any interest in this one. But if I ever do I will give that guy some serious glare through the screen.

Complicated Disaster October 18, 2019

:-/ xx

Deleted user October 18, 2019

Ugh!!

Calicakes October 20, 2019

I just read the reviews on yelp. Not so great. It does look super trendy now. Hey, do you eat the iconic NY egg sandwiches on Kaiser rolls? 3 of my friends are in NYC now and one of them has never been before( he's 68). He loving it. I'm itching to go back, looking at all his pics. They're going to bring me back a dozen everything bagels from a place I found near where they are staying in Midtown( they are in Times square).

Satine Calicakes ⋅ October 22, 2019

Oh yes! I like the egg and cheese on a roll. That is so nice they are having a good time and bringing back BAGELS! :)

Calicakes Satine ⋅ October 23, 2019

I picked up the bagels yesterday. They were super fresh, but a little doughy. I don't remember them being that way. My aunt lived in Grammarcy park area and had an essa-bagel on her corner. These came from Liberty Bagels. They are HUGE, and totally hand rolled, but not like my chewy bagels I bring back from FL.

Satine Calicakes ⋅ October 23, 2019

Ahh interesting...I have had Essa-bagel but not the Liberty ones I think. You just made me realize I don't eat bagels very much - I used to eat one almost every day years ago!

Calicakes Satine ⋅ October 25, 2019

I love them, but they are too big for me. I cut them in 1/4ths and I still scoop out all the extra bread inside. I love smoked salmon so much, the wild stuff that I get at costco. So, when I have a craving, I want a good bagel. The Liberty ones have such good reviews. I'm starting to think that the bagels I'm used to from FL, the ones I think of as NY bagels, are probably not. The bagels I like and bring home are heavier and chewier. Not as doughy. Maybe its a FL thing. I looked at the pics on Yelp and the Liberty bagels look very much like the Essa Bagels. People are going ape shit over Liberty because they have rainbow bagels, something I'd never order.

Satine Calicakes ⋅ October 26, 2019

That makes sense, a lot of former New Yorkers live in Florida but the water’s a bit different there so might result in the ones you prefer! I am not too picky. We had some from the farmers market today. I thought of you yesterday, had a egg and cheese on a Kaiser roll at a work breakfast! :)

kmh. October 20, 2019

I love Antoni, but that is sad :(
Laughed a lot about the varying prices for the exact same orders lol

plushcreep October 21, 2019

I swear, the closure of a favorite restaurant kind of feels like a death in the family—especially when it comes with little or no warning. I've been through the process too many times to count. Once in a blue moon though, it forces your hand and leads to a new discovery. Hope that happens for you guys!

Deleted user December 21, 2019

Hi, can you read my last entry and tell me what stories/categories you think I should use? Thanks!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.