Cross patch in One day at a time

  • March 8, 2014, 5:58 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I am feeling cross. Not angry exactly just annoyed and well, crotchety seems like a good description too. It all stems back to still not feeling great and not getting enough sleep. I live in a 2 bedroom flat (townhouse/apartment/unit/semi detached depending on which part of the world your live in), that means that one side of my house is co-joined with the house next door. That of course means I am stuck with the dramas of living so close to my neighbours.

Now there is a story about them, but I'm not quite sure how it goes. We have a high fence and I can't see over it, so most of my intel is based on what I can hear. So about 18 months ago a couple moved in, Nathan - nice guy, bit dim but friendly and his girlfriend Candace - shrill voice and always nagging at him. TMI but she is a real screamer. So then she disappeared for about 8 weeks and we thought yay she is gone, or maybe just gone home to the UK on holiday. Then she comes back, and he moves out. The next day another guy moves in. So they now seem to be in the honeymoon phase, queue lot's more screaming. Now I don't object to anyone having a healthy sex life, but I would be a lot happier if all the screaming didn't take place between 2 and 3am. That's not the worst of it though, they have at least 2, maybe 3, large dogs. They go out a lot at night (they may even work nights, which would explain the weird schedule). While they are out the dogs bark and bark and bark. So I am having trouble getting a good nights sleep. Not pretty. When the are home the dogs are outside and come right up to the fence barking and snarling. I feel sorry for the dogs, I know it isn't their fault but my roomie is getting very frustrated with them.

Blardy feed up with not feeling great. I think I am at the tail end of it now. Just a bad cough and the odd killer headache. Still not much of an appetite, but that isn't a bad thing- I'm sure my love of all things sugar will be back before I know it.


Meirra March 09, 2014

Totally understand. I have a close neighbor with a loud truck that I hear every morning and hour before my alarm rings. Try some white noise, like a fan or something, to drown it out a bit. It might take a couple weeks to work for you but it helped me quite a bit.

tranquil March 30, 2014

Living next door to that would drive anyone crazy. The barking in itself would drive me crazy.

I don't miss living in apartments. There are so many downsides to it and the main one is dependent on what kind of neighbor lives next to you, above you or below you (depending on what floor you live on)

When we lived in an apt in Tampa, it was awful. I don't think either of us wants to go back to apt living ever. We've rented the same house since Feb. 2009. Although we wouldn't mind moving to a new place in the future, I'm pretty sure we'd stick with renting houses rather than apts if we couldn't buy a house. It's really not much cheaper here to rent apts. You're not saving much!

I hope the neighbor situation has improved since you wrote this and that you are getting peaceful sleep now!!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.