Steel in What's Happening

  • Oct. 11, 2019, 10:09 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I completed my first course on edx.org today. It was: Introduction to steel, which is super relevant to the type of work I do. It was a short course. It only took a few hours to complete, but the amount I learned from it was impressive.

There are hundreds of courses on their website and they are mostly free, but most of them offer incentives to make you want to pay money for the courses. I paid $40.00 for this one. I don’t really think it was worth it for this course, but I will get a certificate for passing the final exam. Actually, I do think the course was worth $40.00. The only reason I said it wasn’t was because I could have learn just as much from the free version.

Now that I’m done with that course I enrolled in an 8 week course on grammar. Hopefully that can help me improve with my writing.

I woke up feeling refreshed today. I almost made an impulse decision to head down to the bay today and go crabbing. I really could use a good outdoor day; I haven’t done much since I got back from Europe almost a week ago. While I was loading the crab traps in the back of my truck I came to the realization that even though I was in the mood for crabbing - I wasn’t in the mood for everything that comes along with it: the long drive, cleaning up, driving home, preparing + cooking them and cleaning up again. I changed my mind.

A lot of times my life seems to be me jumping from one impulse decision to another. There aren’t many times where I ever feel relaxed. Even when I do feel relaxed, I feel guilty about it. Once I get my health insurance from my new job I want to talk to a doctor about possibly having ADHD (or maybe something else).

I went to the thrift store today and found a very old Smith-Corona typewriter. It was one of the oldest ones I’ve seen in person by them. It was very big and boxie and reminded me of the old Royals that I usually see. I was tempted to buy it, but I decided not to. I would have had to ask for forgiveness for breaking one of my very own commandments: Thou shall not buy anymore typewriters.


Last updated October 11, 2019


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.