I now pronounce you... divorced. in Site Updates

  • March 8, 2014, 7:18 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Oh MAN. Are you reading this?

ARE YOU READING THIS?

It's kind of a big deal. I've been talking about this for, like, forever. This feature has been on my to-do list from the moment I conceived Prosebox. And it's finally implemented (here's hoping it actually works, my fingers are crossed).

Yes, the BLOCKING feature has arrived. It's currently a PERMANENT thing, so use it with extreme care and verify exactly who you are blocking when the warning screen pops up.

Oh, and you can't block me. Sorry. You're kind of stuck with me.

You'll find a red BLOCK USER button at the bottom right corner of a user's profile page.

So how does this work, you ask?

Basically, the theory is that it completely hides two people from each other. If you block someone, not only do they not see you, you also do not see them. Any friends/follow links between the two of you are deleted. Any existing comments between the two of you are deleted. You no longer see each other in the Latest Entries listings. You don't see each other's comments anywhere on the site.

YOU ARE DEAD TO EACH OTHER.

Please note that any public content you have is still visible if the other person is not logged into the site.

OK, I think that's about it. There's no IP blocking as part of this feature; it's on a user by user basis.

I think that's about it. It was a pretty big change, so I'll be keeping an eye on things. If anything starts malfunctioning... well, I probably broke it with this update. But here's hoping it's all delightful - at least, as delightful as such a feature can be.

I leave you with this....


Princess Buttercup March 08, 2014

awesome! I don't have a use for it, and I hope I never will. But it is nice to have, just in case.

Deleted user March 08, 2014

Fantastic, the haters be gone!!!!

LivingWaterCreek March 08, 2014

Hope I never have to use it.

Question, I've been leaving notes the past hour or so on my favorites. My note doesn't show up when I press "Leave Comment", however it does save. I left the same note multiple times because I didn't think they were saving, didn't think to look until the third time. duh.

Is it possible that happened because you were updating this new feature?

Ad Astra Per Alas Porci. LivingWaterCreek ⋅ March 08, 2014

Same this just happened to me in leaving my comment on this entry.

simple mind LivingWaterCreek ⋅ March 08, 2014

Hmmm...

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ March 08, 2014

Just click Refresh

simple mind LivingWaterCreek ⋅ March 08, 2014

Yeah... I guess I DID break it... trying to figure that out now. :)

simple mind LivingWaterCreek ⋅ March 08, 2014

OK, it's fixed I think.

Ad Astra Per Alas Porci. simple mind ⋅ March 08, 2014

Testing........

Ad Astra Per Alas Porci. March 08, 2014

"If anything starts malfunctioning... well, I probably broke it with this update. But here's hoping it's all delightful - at least, as delightful as such a feature can be."

LOL, I love your humor about possible malfunctioning to the site, that's great. XD Also, it's a good feature to have on a site because well, it's the internet. :3

simple mind Ad Astra Per Alas Porci. ⋅ March 08, 2014

Yeah, the internet is a rather frightening place at times. :) And I did actually break something (go me!) but I think we're good now.

Ad Astra Per Alas Porci. simple mind ⋅ March 08, 2014

Minimal damage. Well done Sir.

Ditch Witch March 08, 2014

I dont have anyone to block..but it makes me want to find someone to block lol and now I cant get the theme from the Love Boat out of my head..splendid..

Jigger Ditch Witch ⋅ March 08, 2014

Lulz,DW!

Ditch Witch Jigger ⋅ March 08, 2014

def not going to block YOU..you sleep with a chainsaw :)

Deleted user Ditch Witch ⋅ March 10, 2014

hahahahaha!

Deleted user Ditch Witch ⋅ March 08, 2014

Who would want to block you? :P

Reading_Blankie 📚 March 08, 2014

I was wondering about this. :) good job! (gives gold star sticker) and thanks for the loveboat theme. It's now stuck in my head. Back in the day i think there were re-runs on nick-at-nite( don't know if i spelled it right and did i just AGE myself?(!)) along with Happy Days and Leave it to Beaver. :)

Raven Reading_Blankie 📚 ⋅ March 08, 2014

If you dated yourself, then I'm pretty sure I'm dating myself when I say that I remember watching all the old black and white shows with my Nanny (may she rest in peace) on Nick at Nite. Bewitched, I Dream of Jeanie, Dennis the Menace, and SOOOO many others. I love the sitcoms on Nick at Nite now, but sometimes I long for the days of the old Black and White shows!

Nash March 08, 2014

I am kind of thrilled at having a big red nuclear button.

Cathy Nash ⋅ March 08, 2014

Make's you feel powerful, doesn't it? :-D

Deleted user March 08, 2014

When you click it, it should make some kind if sound, like a bomb going off.

Deleted user Deleted user ⋅ March 08, 2014

i was thinking more like james earl jones' voice saying "GTFO OF MY PROSEBOX."

Raven Deleted user ⋅ March 08, 2014

loves

Deleted user Deleted user ⋅ March 08, 2014

or at least a mushroom-cloud gif.

Deleted user Deleted user ⋅ March 10, 2014

LIKE!

Deleted user March 08, 2014

I am so glad you made it free. Thank you.

Deleted user Deleted user ⋅ March 08, 2014

I agree. I thought it was really bad form to make a security feature a paid feature.

Deleted user March 08, 2014

Thanks!!!

Dictynna March 08, 2014

Great to hear this is an option! I've never had to block anyone, but I do have friends who have that extreme need on a strangely frequent basis :P

Etoile Filante March 08, 2014

Most excellent xXx

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm March 08, 2014

i hope i never have to use it but, it's nice to know it's there. take care,

NeonLady March 08, 2014

Thanks!

Deleted user March 08, 2014

THANK YOU!

Krud March 08, 2014

I have to say, I am slightly shocked. I just sang this song in karaoke less than 48 hours ago. What are the odds?

simple mind Krud ⋅ March 08, 2014

I don't know, but it sounds like there's potential for some sort of drinking game here.

nightborn March 08, 2014

Yay! Thank you :)

Deleted user March 08, 2014

yay!

auburn_girl March 08, 2014

I find it fascinating how many people actually seem EXCITED to have a block feature ... lol

Teflon Superhero March 08, 2014

I just felt a disturbance in the force. As if thousands of trolls cried out and were suddenly silenced...

Garnys March 08, 2014

Thank you for this tool. May its use only be needed sparingly!

Deleted user March 08, 2014

If someone creates a sock, will that get the around the block?

Pretend Mulling Deleted user ⋅ March 09, 2014

That's a good point. And is there any possibility that someone could change their name to get around the block (as happened on OD many times)?

Butterfly4Him March 08, 2014

Hopefully, I'll never have to use it. I don't like to be any altercations with anyone!! :*) But, it's good to know, it's in place, just in case!!! bighugzz.

Leanne 🌈 March 08, 2014

All good already used it :)

TruNorth March 08, 2014

Good to have as a safety net but sincerely hope that I never need to use it.

ThisIsME March 08, 2014

Sadly I need this feature thank you for it

Cat Mommy March 08, 2014

Thanks, man! Very much appreciated as I didn't feel comfortable with a couple users being able to read me if they want to (conflicts from OD, nothing happened here).

Deleted user March 08, 2014

I love that we can't block you. Made me giggle. Ha.

Darcy0207 from OD March 08, 2014

thank you! There's someone I'm itching to block! Glad of the opportunity!

Linda March 09, 2014

I sure hope I never have to use this feature.

janeanger March 09, 2014

Awesome. I love blocking people! (Kidding, but it's probably good to have.)

Jullienne March 09, 2014

Congrats! I can remember when my divorce papers finally arrive so long ago. I can vividly remember saying.." This is it?!" It was just a plain 8x11 paper with a seal on it. But I'll tell you what.. it was the prettiest piece of paper I had ever seen. Sure it said divorce but what I saw was "You're Free!"

simple mind Jullienne ⋅ March 09, 2014

Oh, I'm not actually divorced, by the way. That title was just an analogy for the new blocking feature I added.

Lepetit pumpkinesque March 09, 2014

Man, that's cold Holmes.

sparkyray March 09, 2014

You are my favorite webmaster. Please, never change.

Shattered March 09, 2014

Thank you for giving us the ability :)

TechnoKitten March 09, 2014

Awesome!! Thank you :-) and you do great work here! Thank you for running this site! :)

Loki March 09, 2014

  • I have no use for this feature yet, but it is good to know that it is here if any asshat decides to drop by my prose! Thanks ♥
Loki March 09, 2014

  • PS your profile picture sort of looks like a turd =P
The Tranquil Loon March 09, 2014

not a bad button to have ; )

Deleted user March 09, 2014

Thank you! I can now write with freedom!

Deleted user March 10, 2014

nice to know :) THANK YOU :)

Jack March 10, 2014

Wouldn't "Divorce American Style" have been more appropriate?

LotusButterfly March 10, 2014

haha if only blocking someone permanently were so easy in the real world!

Fawkes Gal March 10, 2014

This is all I can think of: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_tIhcbGyni4

Deleted user March 10, 2014

This is awesome!

I like the way you made this blocking two way. FB is only one way, which is flawed.

Thank you.

Deleted user March 10, 2014

Deleted user March 10, 2014

On a funnier side, if I can't block you, you can't block me either. Right? In that case, all you can do is delete my subscription to this site. But, I can still come in as a different users and woo you to be my friend.

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ March 10, 2014

I suppose I could use the block function, but I don't think sticking my head in the sand is a very good administrative function. ;)

MageB March 12, 2014

Did you know the love boat is up on the beach at Alang. Peter Knego has a whole album of pictures. Just go to his site and click on ships.

http://www.midshipcentury.com/

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.