Weekend Woes in Memento Mori

  • Oct. 6, 2019, 8:42 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

10/05

A heart on a string
Is it a noose or a ring?
And it’s a hell of a thing
to make me choose

===

10/06

The city’s below me
the sun’s in my face.
Gravity’s dragging me back to this place.
The trees are all turning
The flowers are dead.
The only thing thriving’s the smoke in my head.

and the city is calling.

===

It’s been a long time since I stole your breath away.
I’m a reformed man. Wheezing.
You used to roll your eyes,
you used to shake your head -
All empty smiles and a creaking bed.

So take all the rest;
The baby’s breath and the peonies,
the heartbroken symphonies,
and me, breathless.

===

I’ve been rhyming “-ead” words too often lately.


Last updated October 06, 2019


if.i.fall. October 07, 2019

you must be full of dread

Apple-Man if.i.fall. ⋅ October 08, 2019

Oh no don't give me more of them

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.