reality check - the on-my-left edition. in crawling into 2014.

  • March 7, 2014, 2:28 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

WHERE: it is some time since my last reality check. I am currently lying on my bed on my left hand side, propped up by my gorgeous, hooge, Ikea pillow.

WEARING: if you all could sit down please, I have an announcement to make. I am fully clothed... I have a grey roll neck, long length sweater top on, figure hugging bright orange jeans and a variety of white coloured underwear.

FITNESS UPDATE: I saw my physio on Monday and he has finally given me the go ahead to train properly. Since December I've been allowed to plod but you just don't get anywhere with plodding! So on Tuesday morning I decided to see how fast I could run a mile. It was horrifically slow! However, on Thursday I did another tempo run (aka plodding) and suddenly I was running faster and more comfortably. I'll add in some hill sprints in the week after next. I finally feel excited about running. Tally and I ran 2.56 miles together on Sunday and I think I'll ask her to join me in running our local Race For Life in May/June :)

IN THE NEWS: Ukraine. Russia. Crimea. I don't like it, I really don't like it. I remember the underlying fear of my childhood, while the boys at primary school got excited at the prospect of a third world war, I always knew that it would be the end of civilisation. Then my teen years involved Reagan. Holy crap, that man's finger was twitching by the Big Red Button with anticipation! So, the news isn't making me jump with joy.

Locally, a two year old boy had his hand trapped in the barrier at our Tesco metro. He lost part of his finger and has been air lifted to Bristol hospital while Tesco have removed the barrier for further investigation.

READING: I'm still on Little Women in English. I'm struggling with the second part of the book as it loses its carefreeness. In Spanish I'm reading En El Rincón del Alma by Antonia J. Corrales.

ACTIVITIES TODAY: it's Friday so it was Toy Library. I hoiked all our ride-ons out as we have far too many! I found a tv in a dark corner! That's in the boot of my car ready to donate to charity, we sold a trike and have a car to sell. Things seem to be fitting much better now! The two year old I look after got a puzzle out that has eight pieces that make a bus shape plus two wheels and eight squares which slot into the Windows. Each window depicts a nursery rhyme. She put it all together, mostly in the right place, only a couple of pieces were wrong. Then put all the nursery rhyme pieces in absolutely correctly before starting to sing incie wincie spider (one of the songs it shows. I had to take a photo for her learning journey and fill out her next step in her tracker book :)

THINKING ABOUT: I'm not really sure. I'm glad that March seems to have brought spring with it. Finally the smells of spring, the clear skies with a hint of warmth, the sound of the birds getting ready to nest. Hope is finally easing its way into my soul. And that makes me happy. It's getting light around 6:30am and getting dark just before 6:30pm. It's close, so close.

PLANNING: after lila's swimming lesson tomorrow, me and the girls are going to drive to west London to visit my sister in her new flat. She moved there last weekend and the girls have been wanting to see it for months! Seriously she put the offer in last October but the chain of nine have had so many problems including one link not even having organised a mortgage!! They finally finalised it all a week ago today and she moved in on Saturday :)


Darcy0207 from OD March 07, 2014

I need to work on my reading in Spanish. Mostly I read a magazine, Muy Interestante. Is the book you're reading one you can recommend?

ermentrude Darcy0207 from OD ⋅ March 07, 2014

I'm only on página 19 but I'll let you know. I've read Muy Interesante too. I have a collection of magazines. I buy lots when I'm in Spain and I also order them from a company based in Murcia. X

~Twinkle~ March 07, 2014

Enjoy your visit to west London, where is her flat? X

thesunnyabyss March 07, 2014

please send some spring this way!!!!

Deleted user March 07, 2014

You lost me at clothed :). But being serious Russian situation is scary and it's so hard to get fitness back after an extended break

Deleted user March 07, 2014

Have fun at your sister's! Today it was 1 degree Celsius and it was like SUMMER! Fever in the city, seriously! :) Little Women, love that book. Have you read it before? Have you seen the movie (the version with Winona Ryder, Claire Danes and Susan Sarandon? I recommend it!) Also, I totally hear you on the WW3 thing. I remember not understanding it at all as a kid, but there was always that fear of someone 'pushing the button'. I always worried that someone would knock it by accident, hehe...

ermentrude Deleted user ⋅ March 08, 2014

It was the movie that started this! I've seen it a few times and a couple of weeks ago tally wanted to watch it so we did and she fell in love. I thought it might be nice to read the book together but I wanted to check its suitability first. X

The Tranquil Loon March 09, 2014

running together, I think that is so sweet. Your sense of style is so fun! I wish I had that thing about me. I've been vacillating over being a teacher again. I miss the young ones. I love that you do a learning journal and tracker book. I know its not easy to fit all that in. and I don't miss the hard work but miss the fun of it and those growth moments.! I just love new places to live (after the hard move). I hope your sis loves it! enjoy the visit! Happy running to you!

ermentrude The Tranquil Loon ⋅ March 09, 2014

We have to do learning journals as part of our job - without them, during inspections, we'd get struck off. And I'm not kidding! If it were down to me it would all just go in a photo journal which is far more fun for the parents to see! X

The Tranquil Loon March 09, 2014

I find it sad they can be real demons in their expectations of early childhood learning and then when they get to public school no one has accountability. Pisses me right off! you do great work! You know I know how challenging it can be. It's good to h ave some expectations but what they ask for is rediculous. I advocate for rotating expectations and not all of them all at once. Too bad I don't have a say. Not yet anyways.....

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.