Thursday 09/26/19 in Lady Loves the Ocean

  • Sept. 26, 2019, 11 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

alt text

It is a beautiful fall morning in Iowa. The sun is shining bright and it is 61 degrees. I love it. Gracie and I have had our walk this morning. I could tell she was enjoying it she didn’t want to come back inside. She is now asleep under my desk. We will go out for another walk around noon.

I missed writing here yesterday. I had errands to run and I met up with one of the women from the Free Sale Groups to let her sort through the books I have in totes in my car. She took a bag full. I then sorted through them and took the oldest books out and bagged them up (3 bags total) and took those to the goodwill. I still have 2 totes not as full. One tote is total self-help. The other is romance and mystery books. I have one more bookshelf to actually finish going through and then If no one wants them I will drop them off at the goodwill. I think I am going to call the Care center in town here and see if they would like to have some. I may list some in a book group.

This trump business about impeachment – just do it and get it over with. I am not a trump supporter and I don’t want to get into politics but there are so many bad things about this man I don’t know how they can just let the latest thing slide by. Of course, once again it is dominating the tv stations.

I got my SS check yesterday so I went and got groceries ( Hopefully to last most of the month of October). I always pay my bills as soon as I get my check and then get groceries. Then I know for sure what I have to work with. Thank god for savings accounts for months when unexpected things come up. I have house insurance due in November. And my taxes on my home were due this month.

That brings me to the latest on replacing my roof. After I spoke to the agent about the situation and how things didn’t happen the way they should have. I got a text from the adjuster saying he had his ladder and he would be coming out to get on my roof. So that happened and he gave me a face to face assessment. Again he brought up age which meant that anything they decided to give me depreciation would come in to play 20% off what they assess my payment should be. So he said he could not determine that my problem was from storm damage. He only found 1 missing shingle. The skylight and the pipes all showed wear and that is where the leaking was coming from. I showed him the interior damage. He said he didn’t believe I needed a whole new roof. But the Skylight needed fixed asap. He said he could give me money towards that and work with giving me money for the interior repair. So I asked for a ballpark of what I might receive. He said around $1,500. Well, this was much different than our previous conversation. I understand the depreciation and then my deductible. So I am okay if they can give me half the cost of the roof. I am going to have the whole roof replaced. My home is 24 yrs old. I will get the roof replaced and the skylight removed. And then work on getting the interior work done later on. At this point, I am glad I called the agent directly and explained how this was handled. And that I was upset about it. The adjuster said he would send me paperwork to sign and they would then send me a check. I contacted the Roofer and told him as soon as I get the paperwork knowing for sure my amount. Then they can start the roof. My son knows someone that can do the interior repairs so hopefully, I can work with him. So I feel much better than I did on Monday. I just want the roof to be done because we have rain forecasted again for several days next week. And again starting tomorrow. Insurance is such a racket.

I am not sure what is going on with me lately. I am so tired. I have been going to bed around 10 pm. I try to read but start falling asleep. Then I am away at 7 am. I haven’t been doing anything different but just seem to feel a lot of fatigue in the afternoon and then can’t keep my eyes open past 10 pm. I am trying to get through a book and this just isn’t working. =)

I am going to stop here and get some cleaning done and probably work on the bookshelf. I might do some crafting this afternoon or sit down and try to get through the current book I am reading.

Sheri
alt text


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.