A place for everything... in Diary

  • March 6, 2014, 10:44 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

After months of battling with the decision I have finally made the decision to not sign onto the lease again in my current house. I cant do the whole share housing thing anymore. When I started having all these feelings early on in the piece, I just put the emotions down to hormones. Then when it started happening more regularly, I put it down to a certain roommate's laziness and general attitude but even when she became more bearable I was still not feeling happy at home. When Simon told us that he planned to move back to New Zealand my initial thought was, "dammit, he beat me getting out of the house."

We ran out of laundry powder a couple of weeks ago. I've been the only one ever (out of 5 of us) to use the common sense that if something communal is running out then we should replace it. It wasnt me that used the last of it so you'd think that the person who did that would have thought, "should probably mention that needs replacing or go out myself and get some and get everyone to pay me back." But no, they would just continue to wash their clothes without powder. Being sick of being the one to always replace shit, I just bought my own this time and stashed my laundry powder in my room - more or less just to see how long it took before someone put their hand up to get it.

Last weekend we had a pre Mardi Gras party and at some point during the afternoon, a tap hose burst out of its connection thingy in the wall flooding the bathroom and leaking out into the lounge/dining area. We were all pretty drunk by this time so we put as many towels over the water as we could and continued to party. I had plans on Sunday so I wasnt really around much. When I was done at the BBQ I went straight to Eli's and fell asleep til 9pm. The only time I went home was to get my gym gear for the next morning. Some of my roommates had the Monday off. I came home Monday afternoon and the house looked exactly as it did when we left for the Mardi Gras party on Saturday night including the soaking wet towels in the bathroom and along the side of the staircase on the wooden floorboards. I picked them all up and took them to the laundry. When I got to the laundry I noticed the kitty litter was piling up with kitty shit and smelt awful. So I put the towels in the washing machine and went to scoop out the shit with the scooper thing but nearly broke it with how hard the litter was. So I broke it all up, gagging as I was doing it, to throw the whole lot out and just start again. Then I saw that there was about a handful left in the bag.

My blood boiled. I stormed into the kitchen, got my wallet and some bags and got in the car and drove to Aldi/Kmart/Woolies and stocked up on everything we were running out of and got us enought toilet paper to last at least 6 months. I couldnt give a f*ck if none of them could afford it, that day/week. Pay me back as soon as you have the money because I'm not your mother - I'm your housemate copping all the effing responsibility because I dont just "make do" without necesseties.

As if that wasnt bad enough, I got home, started to unload all the stuff, Kate had already tended to the kitty litter before I'd put everything away so I went to make a start on the mess left around the kitchen sink when Sam said to me, "dont clean. We'll do it tomorrow." EXCUSE ME?! I was really not prepared to let it fester for another day nor was I prepared to cook my dinner in a filthy kitchen. The space between getting home and being told to leave a mess sitting around for another day cemented my decision that I wouldnt be signing on to live in the house for another year on top of this one already. I just dont have the same living ideals as them. I'm not exactly a clean freak or anything like that, but I like things to be tidy and I guess to an extent I'm one of those "a place for everything and everything in its place" kind of people.

Chantelle and I had spoken about it on Saturday and she told me that she wants to move out of her current place. We looked at a (shit) place this week, but it gave us time to talk about it sober and for me to make sure she's actually okay to live with her big sister. I visited her place a couple of months ago and she vented to me about what her housemate at the time was like to live with and her frustrations seemed to be similar to mine.

Hopefully we can find someone to take my room before the lease ends in August so I can get out of there sooner. I feel like every day is going to drag from here on in.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.