Me Then and Now in Grandma and me

  • March 6, 2014, 10:28 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

 photo 030114grace_zpsd1363470.jpg

Me Monday - 3/1/2004

I took today and tomorrow off work. For no other reason than the fact that I couldnt stand the idea of going there. Its just so boring. I know that rather than bitch about it I should do something. Quitting is not really an option. I could transfer to claims or customer service but the former is more boring that what I do now, and the later would have me in the loony bin. I could try to move up into management but why would I want to manage someone doing a job I already find boring. The only things Ive come up with is to start listening to more audio books and to start taking my breaks.

I finished Love In The Time of Cholera. Speaking of which Hope Floats left the best note. She wondered if the author wasn't trying to say love is like an infectious disease! The book was very well written. The sentences were like poetry. The characters though were so slimy . The author is from South America and while I know its a different culture I just couldnt get past the main character having an affair with a 14 year old girl when he was 70 something.

Me Tuesday - 3/2/2004

Well its back to work time tomorrow. Im not looking forward to it at all. At least there are only 3 days until the weekend. Its Justin's birthday this weekend so I'll be going to the farm.

I went to the library today. I had read in the Handybook for Genealogists that Maryland had a list of residents for 1748 and 1758. but the librarian wasn't able to find anything like that intheir collection or anyone else's genealogy library. :(I can find my maternal Grandpa'sfamily in PG Co MD in 1790 and a family with the same surname in PG Co MD in 1720 but there is at least a generation or two missing.

I came home and read most of a really good book that I got at the library called Murder Runs In The Family. Im going to have to get more books by that author.

Me Wednesday - 3/3/2004

I was going to watch Stephen King's Kingdom hospital after Enterprise but I couldn't take even two minutes with all the weird stuff happening. Im sorry to say I think he has totally lost it. In the olden days he wouldn't throw all this weird stuff at you in the first two minutes. Enterprise was good. A cliffhanger ending. I hope that doesn't mean its the end of their season.

I finished Murder Runs in the Family by Anne George last night. I njoyed it.It was an easy read but I think I was ready for that after Love In The Time of Cholera.

Work was not so bad today. I took a walk on my morning break and looked at pictures from Melanie's vacation in Mexico. Her step dad took her mom there for her 60th birthday, and the rest of the family, all except Mel's daughter, showed up to surprise her. Of course the first words out of her moms mouth was where is my grand daughter. :) I told Mel she could see where she rated.

They looked like they had such a good time. Sun. Ocean. Laying on the Beach. Beautiful Flowers. Pink Flamingos. Lovely. The work situation was also improved because I started listening to The Bad Place by Dean Koontz. Its my kind of book! The serial killer has two sisters who live with him and have 26 cats! :)

At the grocery store today the clerk misunderstood something I said about the apples to be something about my kids not eating the apples. Lately lots of clerks have been assuming I have kids. I always want to look around to see who they are talking to.:)

 photo 030114charles_zps13745c4c.jpg

Me Thursday 3-6-2014

I lost a pound today so Iā€™m right at my goal weight of 153. I want to get to 149 so hopefully no matter what time of day I weigh or what scales Iā€™m weighing on I weigh the same amount. I tried something a little different today. My workout was with Angie at 7 and I wanted to get my cardio workout in this morning so I could go to Zumba tonight. I literally got out of bed put on some workout clothes and grabbed my gym bag already bagged with work appropriate clothes a towel and shampoo and headed for the gym.

Good Things I did for me

Ran 2 miles at 4.5. 2 min walk Ran 1 miles 4.8. 2 min walk. Ran 4 half miles at 5.3 wiith 2 min walks in between.

Zumba

Stayed in calorie range

 photo 030114pelican_zpseec44956.jpg

Pictured top to bottom. My 3 legged kitty Gracie. Gina's cat Charles Darwin. A random pelican on Lake Contrary.


Reading_Blankie šŸ“š March 06, 2014

you like "thriller" books don't you? Harlen Corbin is a good author too. I have never read Steven King novels though.

Spinster Reading_Blankie šŸ“š ⋅ March 07, 2014

I like pretty much every kind of books except romance. I LOVE Harlen Corbin. I also like Robert Crais. I'm reading his latest right now.

Reading_Blankie šŸ“š Spinster ⋅ March 07, 2014

hmm, I have seen Robert Crais books, but haven't picked one up-- or download it as we now say. Have you read Sandra Brown or Tami hoag? " A Thin Dark Line" of Tami Hoag's is good along with "Envy" by Sandra Brown. I have been wanting to try a new author so I'll look up Robert Crais. :)

Spinster Reading_Blankie šŸ“š ⋅ March 07, 2014

I highly recommend his first book. The Monkeys Raincoat. I have tried Tami Hoag and Sandra Brown. Didn't love either one.

Reading_Blankie šŸ“š Spinster ⋅ March 07, 2014

You like Dean Koontz? I've read some of his novels. Can't stand Nora Roberts( know you don't read hers); I found out that she plagiarized herself. Like she went and changed the names and titles and passed it off as a new one. Lazy turd.

I'll have to try that book; I'll let you know when I start reading it. I imagine you like James Patterson. .....

LivingWaterCreek March 06, 2014

Charles Darwin is gorgeous. I've got a thing for your cats apparently. That's good, by the way.

Good going with your gym. I'm a slug. Need to change my ways so very much.

Squidobarnez March 07, 2014

you are such an inspiring person, chicaroni, awesome work with your weight loss and maintenance.

huggles-o'-squish

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.