Tuesday 09/24/19 in Lady Loves the Ocean

  • Sept. 24, 2019, 10:19 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

alt text
Good Tuesday Morning. Sunshine and cool at the moment. But today is supposed to heat up to a hot 87 degrees and then tomorrow back down in the 70’s. So today, of course, will bring storms later as the cold front moves in. I am currently not a fan of rain as I wait to get my roof repaired. After it’s fixed I won’t really care about rain or shine. I love fall and it usually brings a good share of rain.

So I waited around all day yesterday for the Insurance agent or adjuster to call me. Think the agent will come and then the adjuster can come. I was home until 4 p.m. I only left because I was meeting up with the girls for dinner. So I come out of our dinner get in my car and there is a message on my phone. An adjuster has been at my house while I was not home and has assessed the damage. He can’t find any. I said did you go up and look at the roof. Well, I can see what I need to see from the ground. I said really. I said that is unacceptable to me. I am not asking you to get up on the roof but taking a ladder and going up to view it would show there are missing shingles, and other places that need repair. He asked if I had an estimate. I said Yes. He said to take a picture and send it to me. So I did. And I also sent the pictures that roofer sent to me and the pictures of the interior that I took. He said well I can’t see storm damage. I see wear and tear on an old home. Again I said that is not acceptable. Either you need to speak with the people that gave the estimate or you need get up there and look yourself. He said your home is old. I said I know that. And he said I don’t think we will be able to help. I said again that is unacceptable to me. You have not even assessed the damage completely. He was very short with me. So I called my son and he said: “why didn’t the agent contact you first?” I said when I called and talked to the Insurance company they said that my agent would call me. Instead, they just sent an adjuster. My son suggested I call the agent this morning. So I did and explained the process. He said the main office didn’t contact him at all they just sent an adjuster. He knew nothing about it. I said again this is like putting the cart before the horse. I said I have had insurance with your company for over 30+ years. on two homes and never filed a claim. And your adjuster is telling me you can’t help me. And you can’t even call me to discuss this with me. He apologized for the way the office handled things. He would look into it. I know my home is older. But I pay for my insurance. If there is going to be depreciation and deductibles then my insurance needs to be adjusted. I am basically paying for nothing. I guess I need to look elsewhere. The conversation ended with let me call you back. If they do not pay anything I will be shopping for new insurance asap. Fraud. I am not happy.
( Update: As I am writing this entry I just got a text stating the adjuster is coming out with a ladder to check the roof ) I will keep you posted.

Dinner with the girls was great. Mexican hit the spot. No margarita for me though. I haven’t had a drink in a long time. I would not even have one when I am driving. It was good to see the girls and one of them just became Grandma again for the second time. So she was showing us pictures. He is beautiful. She is so excited. She now has a granddaughter and a grandson. We will try to meet up again in October.

Hopefully, I can get this roof situation taken care of so they can get to work on it sometime this week. More rain in the forecast. And I don’t want to be sitting here waiting as things get worse. The roofing company said they can start right away. I have the money in savings. My savings is dwindling fast. I will have to have the ceilings redone but that may have to wait. Depending on if I can get anything from the Insurance company.

I plan to meet up with a few women from the FB free sale group to see if they will take some books off my hands. Whatever they don’t take I will donate. So I am hoping they take a lot. =)

I found a great website to read and listen to audiobooks. Unlimited for $8 a month. It is scribd. http://www.scribd.com I have found several books I have been looking for at my library and could not find they are on scribd. I like listening to audiobooks when I am driving or walking. It’s nice to have scribd for that. The first month is free. Then it is $8 month after. Which I consider a great deal.

Ok, I am going to get busy with some housework. I will keep you updated on the insurance situation. Let’s pray for a good outcome.

Sheri

![alt text](http://https://i221.photobucket.com/albums/dd220/sheri72258/dolls/th44-1.gif)


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.