This is It in Fragments of Life

  • Sept. 23, 2019, 8:44 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This is It
When we first settled into our retirement home here in San Diego, the others noticed me gazing out the slider one day with a contemplating and thoughtful look on my face.

What’s wrong? They asked.

The sense of foreverness was not exactly “wrong” but something that I came to the realization of, as I told them.

This was it. This was our final stop. We may have several more years to live. We may go places. We may do things. But it, to me, was where we would spend the rest of our lives… In this house. It was sort of like stepping into the waiting room at Death’s office. We would have a long wait before Death would call us into its home for all eternity. But this was still it, our final destination as far as where we would live. Something I definitely had mixed emotions about too. I was glad to be settled in a place we all seemed to really enjoy but there was still a sense of sadness in knowing that this was it. There would be no more discussion of where we may retire. There would be no further research of various locations. This was it.

This is forever.
Web
Analytics


Comments are closed.

No comments.

Comments are closed.