Monday 09/23/19 in Lady Loves the Ocean

  • Sept. 23, 2019, 10:27 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Good Morning. Happy Fall to you all. It is a beautiful morning here in Iowa. Thank God the rain has stopped. Hopefully for several days. It rained all weekend. I am happy it’s fall but not sure where spring and summer went. They flew by so fast I feel like I missed them completely. I hope fall settles in and stays a long while. Now we can just forget about winter. I would be fine with that. My least favorite season of the year.

I have been up since around 7 am. I called the Insurance company right around 8 am. I need to have someone come out and assess the damage to my roof and see if I can’t get them to help pay for the new roof. I have damage inside my house from the leaking as well. The cost to replace the roof is going to be $3000. I have a $1000 deductible for wind and hail damage. So let’s pray they will help out. Out of pocket of $1000 is much better than out of pocket $3000. I am praying hard for help. I hope the adjuster calls back soon so we can get someone out here and maybe they can get started this week. Since there is more rain in the forecast for later in the week.

I got to see my granddaughter Quinn yesterday. She has grown so much and is so animated. She does not talk in sentences she talks in paragraphs now with her hands going every which way. We played Barbies, and ponies, and played with flashcards ( which she calls her homework). I read several books to her. The one she was most interested in was about snowmen. Now she can’t wait for it to snow. When her mommy got home from work she told her: ” Snow going to come, grandma, daddy and you mommy we build snowmen we wear hats, boots, mittens. When is snow coming mommy?” Her mommy just shook her head. When I got ready to leave she ran to the door and said “No snow yet grandma.” She is my little sunshine. She will turn 3 on October 26th.

I am meeting a couple of my girlfriends that I used to work with at Pearson for dinner tonight at Carlos O’Kelly’s. I am craving Mexican. We try to get together every couple of months for dinner. I have been gone from Pearson for around 6 years now. There are 5 of us that still keep in touch. 2 of the ladies still work for Pearson. They lived closer to the new location than the rest of us so they didn’t take the retirement severance package that was offered 5 years ago. I had worked there for 20 years before I left. And then went to the worst job of my life Sedgwick. Which I was so happy to leave in June. And then I retired.

I got a response from the ad I put on Iowa Free Sale site. I have two full totes of books to give away. I have two ladies interested. So I hope to get that set up in the next few days. Whatever they don’t take I will donate to goodwill. I just would rather give books to someone I know really wants them. I can’t and won’t throw away a book. I have so many more I need to donate. I will probably go through my bookshelves one more time before I meet up with these women. I am going to also probably go through my clothes another time or two to see if there is anything else I want to donate. I have given a lot of my clothes away on the free sale site. There seems to be so many women in need. It makes me happy to give to someone I know will use them or pass them on.

So my list of things to do today. I have contacted the insurance company, the roofing company. I am going to check out my bookshelves and do some cleaning and then probably some reading before I go to meet the girls for dinner. It is going to be a great day. Get out and enjoy the sunshine after all the rain. Gracie and I need to take a nice long walk around the court today. She loves walks. She is sleeping under my desk where she is every time I am at my desk.

I am outta here. Happy Fall!!!

alt text


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.