Saturday 09/21/19 in Lady Loves the Ocean

Revised: 09/22/2019 12:28 p.m.

  • Sept. 21, 2019, midnight
  • |
  • Public

Good Saturday Morning. As the rain comes down gently. Normally I would bask in a day like today. Except I have a leaky roof and the roofing guy is supposed to come assess it today between 1-2 pm. I hope it stops raining by then and he does not cancel. I need to get this fixed asap.

I was awol here yesterday. I had some appointments and just kind of went out in the world after that with no purpose. I ended up going to two thrift stores. I limited myself to what I would spend. I stayed under an allowance of $50. I got a couple of tops for winter that I can wear with leggings. I got a couple of angel figurines ( which I collect) a small pumpkin that I can put a tea light candle in. And I know this should not have happened but I bought a few books. Yes, I know I have been talking about all the books I am purging. These books are from authors I have not read, one is from an author I love but could not find the book anywhere. I got 7. Most were under $2.99. I paid 99 cents for two of them. So to feel good I will donate 7 books this week. I have already picked out 5 off my shelf to donate. I am trying to follow the in and out rule. If you bring new stuff in you have to donate old to equal what was brought in.
alt text

With all the purging I have been doing I do want to recommend a great book if anyone else is interested in the decluttering or purging of your things. The book is “Slow simple Living for a frantic world ” by Brooke McAlary. I borrowed this from the library and I highly recommend it for several reasons.

It really helps you through the process of decluttering by dealing with what you might be feeling as you are trying to start the process, keep up the process, and not get stuck in the process. And then to understand it really is an ongoing process you must keep up to feel good about it. It also deals with mindfulness and learning how to unplug from all the stress of the world. That’s my plug for the day. =)

I have put myself back on Prosebox. I started a diary there when OD ended. So I do have some past entries but I started putting these entries there as well. I have found some people that I followed from OD. Which makes me happy. A few I had already connected with here. So I am glad to be back there too.

I ended up canceling my trip with my best friend. We had scheduled a trip north up by a lake. It was set for early in September but it had to be canceled due to her health issues. And I reset it for October. And I made the decision to cancel it altogether due to both our health issues. She lives in Wisconsin. I live in Iowa. I am hoping that she can still make it down to see me before the snow starts flying up there. She is way up north. I wanted to go someplace besides just here and she was content to just come see me here. I am okay with that now. The plan to go north to the condo was causing me stress. I was concerned financially because I have bills coming due in Oct ( house insurance, taxes and a possible new roof). The condo alone was $500 for 4 days. It would have been $130 to board Gracie, and then gas, and spending money. I just didn’t feel right doing it right now. I miss my best friend a lot. We have not seen each other this year. But I also have to think about how I can make it financially. She understands.

Gracie’s trip to the vet. First, she is ok. The trip was kind of a waste but it assured me she was ok. Gracie was hit by a truck when my sister had her. She broke her pelvis and healed from that. Well, the vet said her foot has been bad since then. She is not in pain. In fact sometimes she walks just fine other times her little paw curves under. The vet said this is from that incident. She allows me to touch her there and there are no problems with it. I have noticed since I took her in that she has had the limb but I knew about the incident. I just never noticed how her paw turns under. She sometimes has trouble getting up the stairs into the house but when she wants to run you don’t notice anything at all. She bounds like a little lamb when she runs and plays.
alt text

This is Gracie. Right after she was groomed. She was rescued in Colorado where my sister was living and she brought her here to Iowa. Age guestimation is about 10 yrs old. She is a precious thing to me. She gives me so much unconditional love. And I don’t know what I would do without her at this point. Here is a pic with her ears down.

alt text

The roof guy postponed the appointment until between 3-4 today and now the rain stopped. I can only pray it’s not raining during the new appointment time. I really need to have this done asap.

I am going to stop here. I may come back later. I am going to fix some lunch. Maybe do something productive before the appointment.

Sheri


Last updated September 22, 2019


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.