Sunday 09/22/19 in Lady Loves the Ocean

  • Sept. 22, 2019, 12:11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

alt text
Sunday morning. Not yet noon. Another gloomy day with rain in the forecast. It can stop anytime. Please. I think we are supposed to get a break tomorrow. The first day of fall. And temps are going to be milder this week as well.

The roofing company showed up yesterday afternoon even in the rain and got up and accessed my roof. I need a whole new roof. Missing singles, other damages. So he said they can replace it for $3,000 with a 30-year warranty. I am going to call my insurance company tomorrow and have them come out and I am going to go with this Meza roofing company to fix my roof. He said they can start this week once they get the go-ahead from me. The company has good reviews. They have done several homes here in our court. I have tried for months to get other companies to come and give me an estimate and could get no one to either answer the phone or commit to it. So I am going with this company. I am very fortunate to have the money in savings to cover this. But it would be great if my insurance company could help me out. So I have to call them first thing and get someone out here to look at it. Pray they can help me with the cost. I do not want to deplete my savings account $3,000. I do have a $250 deductible and also $1000 deductible on wind and hail damage. I will be glad when this is taken care of. Another thing off my list. I will eventually have to have some stuff done on the inside. But I will probably put that off for a while.

Tomorrow is the first day of fall. Seriously where did the summer go? No vacation here. I retired in June. So I guess every day is a vacation for me. But I have not traveled anywhere this summer. I wanted to go to the beach. I haven’t been back now for a few years. That will be on the top of my list for next year. I always travel with my BFF. But this year she could not afford it and was not healthy enough. I will hold on to my dream for another year. And plan to go before Hurricane Season.

I am going to get to see my 3 yr old Granddaughter today. I am excited. They live about 20 miles from me. They are busy with jobs, life, remodeling another house so I only see her once or twice a month. So anytime I can get I run to see her. I have some toys for her today. I imagine we will play barbies a bit, and I will read some and then she will be ready to run. With it raining she won’t be able to go outside so I a sure she will have extra energy. She is my sunshine. Every time I see her she has learned new things. And she talks a mile a minute explaining things. I love it.

Gracie ( my dog) is doing great. She is sleeping under my desk where she is every time I am on the computer. She tends to follow me around. When I am sitting in the recliner she has to be there too. Bedtime she has a pillow she sleeps on next to my bed. We have lost her latest toy. It has a double squeaker in it. It must be under a piece of furniture. I could not find it last night and tried to use another one. She was not having it. So I either better look harder for it or try to find another like it. When I go to my son’s house I will put her in her kennel. The only time I put her in the kennel is if I am going away. I kenneled her in the beginning but she cried so much I decided to try the pillow by my bed. She is much happier and so am I. She gets so excited if I ask her if she wants to go for a car ride. She loves riding in the car. If I am just going into town for quick things she comes with me. Library, grocery store, post office, quick things. I would never leave her in the car for more than 5-10 mins. She is a smart dog. She really understands when I tell her to do things.

I have been reading a lot this month. I am currently reading “Outfox” by Sandra Brown. It is her newest book. So far this month I have read:

“The Last Widow” by Karin Slaughter
“One Good Deed” by David Baldacci
“Window on the Bay” by Debbie Macomber
“Undercurrents” by Nora Roberts
“The Dark Side” by Danielle Steel

I usually read at least 5 books a month. I hope to finish “Outfox” before the end of the month and start something new.

The new tv season starts tomorrow. A lot of good shows will be back this week. The Voice, 911, The good Doctor, The Resident, The 3 Chicago shows in the series, and Grey’s Anatomy. I have not checked what new shows will be starting. I will be glad for new episodes to the old shows. I watch a lot of TV during fall and winter. Sometimes I record and watch them on rainy days or late nights. Curious to know what shows others like.

Ok, it is 12 noon. I am going to gather my stuff together and head to my son’s house. I hope everyone reading this is having a great Sunday. What are you doing today?

Sheri
alt text


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.