Just Messin' With You Sasquatch in Magical Realism

  • March 6, 2014, 2:03 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Tuesday afternoon I went out with my work colleagues for a team dinner. We started off with hot popovers and fresh butter, which I don't think I'd ever had but were completely awesome. We shared a ton of appetizers, grilled octopus, calamari, etc. - I didn't want to get too full before my main course after the popover so I mainly snacked on the (delicious!) tuna tartare. My main course was made up of sea scallops with some purple and green cauliflower roasted with some sort of tumeric coating. I don't think I'd ever had tumeric but I liked it! Plus I believe it's a superfood, so bonus for that.

Lots of wine with dinner and then we went upstairs to their rooftop cocktail bar. They were having a special on Sazeracs in honor of Mardi Gras, even when I'm not paying I still love a special! Then they brought us gift bags, and king cake cupcakes. I was super-full so didn't have mine until the next day but it was tasty, and festive! A stopped by and we went to another place for our traditional Mardi Gras rum and cokes and Jack Daniel's. Then we went to the drugstore. Somehow I managed to run out of shampoo, sunscreen, and lotion all on the same day, so it was fun to restock. After that we went home, where I then proceeded to stay up most of the night watching "The Talented Mr. Ripley" on NetFlix. I had seen it at least once before, but extra surreal to watch Philip Seymour Hoffman's character die in the movie when he just died in real life. Sad stuff. We used to see him around the block a lot - he tended to draw my attention as he was usually wearing sweatpants.

Wednesday I worked from home, made chocolate protein pancakes for lunch because it was all we had left in the house. (That and the king cake cupcake which I'd already eaten for breakfast.) Headed out around 5pm for a Metabolic Conditioning class, I got there super-early somehow so I walked on the treadmill with Kendra for a bit before class, haven't seen her in several weeks with our respective travel schedules. Class was great, but then I had to run back downtown straight away to get on a 7pm conference call.

A and I went to the grocery store after that and got loads of lovely fresh food. He made me a tomato and mozzarella sandwich on this awesome fresh sourdough bread, then I did lots of chopping/seasoning and put chicken, brussels sprouts, and butternut squash in to bake in the oven for lunches. (That is all I ever seem to eat these days, but it's so easy and I love it!) Took a shower, put everything away, and then fell asleep about 5 minutes into "The Following."

Then this morning I woke up to the lovely sounds of the NYPD buzzing and then knocking on my door at 7am! It was like a "Law & Order" episode. Crazy stuff. I had no idea what was happening at first, but they were investigating someone who used to live in the building. They showed me a picture and had me identify them and everything. I have this person as a contact on a social media site so I looked up some info for them, kind of funny that this is a tool for law enforcement now. Someone in my building must have called the cops on them from the loud buzzing/knocking - they started laughing when this happened. They said they are based in Brooklyn and said they do the same think all the time there and no once complains, but the second they come into Manhattan people call the police on them. I love that they called the cops on the cops.

The rest of the day has been uneventful in comparison, but there is still time.


Deleted user March 06, 2014

Crazy about your neighbor! Hope all is well.

nightborn March 06, 2014

When Talented Mr Ripley came out, I was obsessed with it - I even bought the soundtrack! An underrated movie IMO, ahead of its time (and the novel definitely was!) PSH and Jude Law were both in their prime (meh on Gwyneth).

Wow, that is a crazy start to your day! Wonder what your neighbor did.

~Mrs. O~ March 06, 2014

Sounds like a good week so far.

Crazy things tend to happen in every neighborhood...I live in a "great" one now, but there are still some issues from time to time (at least I no longer live in a place where it's common to hear gunshots on a weekly, if not daily, basis).

devatchka March 06, 2014

Your main course sounds absolutely delicious!

I both love and hate The Following. It really is a graphic graphic show. But, some of the acting and stunts/shots are amazing. And, the morning sounds pretty crazy.

BlueEyedDevil March 06, 2014

Mmm cauliflower... I can't believe I used to hate it when I was a kid.

Any idea what your former neighbor did to warrant the investigation??

incredulity March 06, 2014

I guess cops come before they think most people leave for work? Uh what a wakeup! Too funny about facebook. I've never had king cake and now I want it! Also popovers and butter. I just ate and you're making me hungry!

sarahbaby. March 06, 2014

Do you have a recipe for that chicken/Brussels sprouts meal? I want it, if you do, please! I need more Brussels sprouts in my life.

Deleted user March 06, 2014

I love your life so much. If you've had Indian curry or other dishes like palak paneer (I'm sure you have), you've had turmeric!

Chocolate protein pancakes eh? I'm going to look that up RIGHT now.

LotusButterfly March 07, 2014

Tumeric is a power food, and gives a wonderful taste. I don't care for scallops, though, which always makes me feel like my fanciness is not top notch lol.

Ooohh and what's this about Metabolic Contidioning? Sounds very interesting!

.kate. March 08, 2014

GRILLED OCTOPUS! I miss grilled octopus so much. This isn't a thing they do in Cincinnati, which is lame.

dancerd March 08, 2014

That's a crazy story!!

dancerd September 18, 2014

Can you explain the recipe in more detail? I think I want to make it!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.