Dementia Journal, Sept. 11, 2019: Dementia Storms and Hurricanes in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • Sept. 12, 2019, 5:50 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s like being in a different world this week compared to last. I’m relatively relaxed, life seems to have returned to what passes for normal these days, and Hurricane Dorian is now a terrible, fading memory for us, but not, of course, for the Bahamas victims of that awful weather catastrophe.

We’ve screwed up the weather and climate so effectively that the first significant hurricane of the season was also, for a time, the most powerful Atlantic storm in recorded history. I shudder at the memory of what could have happened to us here in Charleston, right on course to get the storm as it curved away from Florida and marched north northwest right for us. Then it made its long predicted eastward turn. What if it hadn’t? Still, it barely missed us, passing only 50 or 60 miles off the coast. We had the strongest winds I’ve ever felt in the 25 years I’ve lived here. We hunkered down and lost power for 12 hours, but it caused much less damage than it could have. We are very fortunate and grateful.

Imagine if you will, getting an evacuation order the second year in a row (three out of the past four years) from our governor and being told to get out of town while you can, when for us there was no good option. I doubt Mom, who will soon be 96, would have survived an evacuation. She’s totally housebound, diabetic and has heart failure. Her dementia would likely have resulted in a mental storm of unprecedented ferocity. We would have had to sedate her. There is no shelter I can take her to, first responders wouldn’t be out if the storm did come, and being cooped up in a hotel for days in her condition is unfathomable. Our governor and other officials don’t address from year to year the terrible quandary Mom and I face, and many others like us as well. It’s easy for him to play politics and cover his liability issues, even if all the models for the storm show it veering away from us. But it’s potentially deadly for those who have to stay behind. The only way I’m leaving here is if a category 4 or 5 hurricane is predicted to hit us directly. This place would probably be wiped out if a storm as powerful as Dorian was when it stalled over the Bahamas were ever to come here. Global warming is making it more and more a risk and danger to live on the coast. After four straight years of near misses, I want to get out of here as soon as I can.

So I was very, very anxious as I looked at the forecast from the National Hurricane Center every three hours. I was awake at 2 and 5 am last Wednesday dreading my compulsion to look at the forecast yet again instead of waiting until 11. We go through this sense of dread every August and September, dreading whether we’ll be wiped off the map as happened to the homes and towns of 70,000 people in the Bahamas who were suddenly homeless.

I gave Mom Ativan Wednesday, and she pretty much slept through the storm. She had no idea there was a hurricane right off the coast. Blissful ignorance.

Another reason I’m so nervous during Hurricane season is because Mom’s moods are so unpredictable and volatile. Here’s what I emailed someone the other night:

“…I go through emotional roller coaster rides with Mom every day now. In the morning she’s sweet as an angel, and it’s a joy to look at her beautiful smile when she gets up for breakfast. At night, after about 9 or 10, Sundowner’s Syndrome kicks in and she undergoes this bizarre metamorphosis into an angry, frightened, and cussing “other” person who’s unrecognizable, except it’s the same unrecognizable person each night. Last night, she called me a ‘damn fool’ so many times I was beginning to think, “By golly, she might be right.”

One HAS to maintain some sense of humor about the absurdity of the situation I’m in. Dementia is a truly staggering affliction of the mind , but I’m not going to let Mom’s disease drag me down. I know it’s not “her.” As I mentioned earlier, it’s this “other person.” For instance, for the last half hour now Mom’s been babbling nonsense about someone trying to kill her. She says this so often I sometimes wonder if something horrible happened to her that she never told us about. I’m actually trying to write this now while she’s carrying on in this delusional state. I just told her she must have had a bad dream or nightmare. “You damn fool,” she replied.

This mood tonight is so diametrically opposite from what she’s like most of the time, even late at night. She’s calmed down a bit now and just held out her hand for me to hold.

I’ve finally accepted that Mom really doesn’t seem to know who I am. She frequently asks me who I am, and when I tell her to guess she never says my name anymore. She’ll say I’m one of the caregivers or her mother or father. She often asks where her mother is. When I tell her my name she acts like she suddenly remembers I’m her son.

Despite her advanced dementia, and I’ve said this before, she retains a fervent belief in God despite the extensive brain deterioration she’s experienced for years. Her most common phrase is “Pray for me.” I think this last bastion of cognitive and spiritual awareness is what keeps her going and which gives her hope, even if she has to be reassured over and over again that God is with her and people are praying for her.

She’s afraid to die, despite her lifelong strong faith, and is not ready to go. At other times, she does appear to be ready.

I wrote down these comments from this summer:

Mom: “I’m dying.”
Me: “No, you’re not.
Mom: “Oh thank God. I love this life.”

Then days later:
“I’m ready, God. Take me if you’re ready.”

A couple of weeks ago:
“Mama. Are you home? Amen.”

“Mama. You better come. I’m going crazy.”

And this just a few days ago on Sept. 7:
“God’s blessing me. I feel it. Am I in heaven?”


Last updated September 22, 2019


MageB September 12, 2019

Between storms, you might have a serious conversation with her doctor about the terrible situation that you two are in. We were really lucky as our friend, Duck, never got very far. The police always brought him home.

Newzlady September 12, 2019

Relieved to read this. hugs

Sabrina-Belle September 12, 2019

I'm so glad the worst of the storm missed you.
It's interesting what you say about wondering if there is something your mother never told you about, it was the same with my mother in law when she had dementia she told us things my husband had never heard before.

Kristi1971 September 12, 2019

I'm so thankful the storm did not make a landfall there.

A couple of weeks ago my mom's best friend (for decades now) was diagnosed with Alzheimers. The scariest thing is the speed at which her brain is deteriorating. She is a brilliant woman and one day she woke up and couldn't add. She couldn't remember people she knew for years. She was getting lost driving (had to turn in her keys and license was revoked by her physician). She really sad part is that she recognized her lack of remembering to the point she took herself to the doctors to get checked out, because it scared her. I saw her one afternoon in Maine and we talked about her memory issues for a long while. I kept her some company and gave her some encouragement but I was thinking this would be her diagnosis.

Like I wrote, though, the speed at which her memory is going downhill is faster than I've ever seen (except in one other case). It's like someone just turned a switch and she can't remember to the point she is unable to live alone.

When I worked on the Alzheimer Unit in a nursing home, I saw one young man come in for a bed. He was my age (48). It was happening really fast like hers, and he was fully aware of what the disease was doing to him at the same time. Her case is like his....makes my heart hurt. My mom is beside herself...I think she is going to go up and stay with her for a while since she needs someone in her house with her.

Tehachap September 12, 2019 (edited September 12, 2019)

Edited

My heart goes out to you and at the same time I wonder how long it was before your mother got this bad. My husband was diagnosed with Alzheimer's related dementia earlier this year. He's absolutely normal for most of the time, yet there are moments when he's confused (mostly in the evening). He's taking Aricept and it has been helping (at least I think it has been helping). I have to keep myself from thinking of the future and try to live one day at a time. I've signed up to follow your posts. I write at http://www.tehachap.WordPress.com I found you through Mage http://urban-archology.blogspot.com/

ODSago September 13, 2019

I finally am able to access my diary here and wanted you know how pleased I was to find the storm didn't do any more damage there than it did; a huge hurricane sitting above a city for days--I don't know what you'd do to protect her and yourself. Blessings on this long journey...you are doing your best and I have to think that inside her every cell in her body knows who you are and loves you dearly.

Marg September 14, 2019

That would have been a horrifying situation having to evacuate with your mother - I'm so glad it didn't come to that and the storm passed you by but the stress of not knowing each year must be a terrific strain. Relocating is a good idea but I imagine that would be just as much stress to try and move your Mom from what she knows.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.