Never Forget in Life After 60

  • Sept. 11, 2019, 4:13 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

In this politically correct society, we live in, I find it no big surprise that Google has done nothing to honor nor remember 9/11. No black ribbon, no special Google Doodle, nothing. Oh, thatโ€™s right, Google, like Facebook, is an international product and that might offend the Muslims. We can honor Black History, LBGT, and every other movement, but not 9/11?
I am not sure which party or parties are responsible for this attempt to make the U.S. all-inclusive, yet selective of who we remember and honor. I fear that 10 years from now many of the liberties we hold dear will a thing of the past. Itโ€™s a sad day in America.


.Bleu ๐Ÿฆ‹ Fleurs. September 11, 2019

Ive noticed the past couple years, there hasnt been much mention of 9/11 anymore.

Douglas Kinney .Bleu ๐Ÿฆ‹ Fleurs. ⋅ September 12, 2019

As a nation, we are being lulled into a tolerance mentality that will one day destroy this country. But I will leave that can of worms alone!

Park Row Fallout September 11, 2019

Not that it helps any (and certainly people have voiced their opinion each year) but starting as early as the 10th Anniversary, Google has simply gone with the "black ribbon below Google" which is still present on their page for this year's 9/11. I honestly don't have an opinion on whether a massive doodle is right or wrong; but just pointing that out.

Douglas Kinney Park Row Fallout ⋅ September 12, 2019

And people will voice their opinions on just about anything, and I support free speech. Much like the Oklahoma City Bombing, we will have a generation that only reads a footnote in the history books.

Deleted user September 11, 2019

I just looked and now there's an American Flag with a black ribbon underneath the search bar.

Douglas Kinney Deleted user ⋅ September 12, 2019

Yeah, it wasn't showing on my page either and then about an hour after my post there was a little icon!

crystal butterfly September 11, 2019

I don't use Google so I don't know what they did.

Douglas Kinney crystal butterfly ⋅ September 12, 2019

One finally showed up. I use Google since the school system I work for uses everything from Google. Of course, I am old enough to remember Netscape! I loved that browser.

Reading_Blankie ๐Ÿ“š Douglas Kinney ⋅ September 12, 2019

i loved netscape, too! I'm also a dork and loved the modem sound.

Reading_Blankie ๐Ÿ“š September 11, 2019

There has been a black ribbon flag thingey under the search bar for google, but that's it really. It's kind of sad in general really. I think our ancestors would be disappointed. Yes, when this country was formed, some of the signers were slave owners, but they had the courage to commit treason against King George II (???) to make us separate from England. Washington was the first president, Lincoln freed the slaves...

Sorry for the history lesson. I guess the lack of respect this day gets annoys me too.

Douglas Kinney Reading_Blankie ๐Ÿ“š ⋅ September 12, 2019

For some unknown reason about an hour after my post, a little black ribbon showed up. I know I am getting old but I didn't miss that all day! Strange. To your history lesson and lack of respect, no need to apologize. As has been so famously quoted over the years, those who fail to learn from history are doomed to repeat it. In this case, I think we need to. Congress no longer represents me.

Reading_Blankie ๐Ÿ“š Douglas Kinney ⋅ September 12, 2019

"People" in government just have no honor anymore. They don't care what is right or wrong--- only just about party or themselves. I don't remember if it was in AZ (where I live) or somewhere else, but there was this firefighter who was denied coverage for treatment of cancer or something like that. And then there was the whole 9/11 firefighter bill thing( that John Stewart helped with), that should've been a no brainer and passed right away.

Jeff Flake(not a fan of him) quit politics because he said that government wasn't about issues anymore, but about party.

I think we do need something dire to happen in order for some of them to realize what schmucks they've been and that THEY have the power to make change.

woman in the moon September 15, 2019

I wrote about 9-11. And in previous year's entries on the sidebar is a photo of a fire truck coming across the Brooklyn Bridge to help- all the firemen on the truck died and most had Irish names. It makes me sad.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.