A Million Little Things in Life After 60

  • Sept. 10, 2019, 12:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Most of the time, it is not one thing that gets to us, brings us down, or destroys us. There are those instances where that is true, but in general, it is usually several different things at once. It’s like the snowball effect.
Every 40 seconds someone commits suicide and the number is largest of teenage girls. That fact just blows my mind. Of course, any loss of life is tragic, don’t get me wrong, but what can be so important that it weighs so heavy on a teen’s life?
I lost a cousin to suicide when he was 21. I had just talked to him a few days before. We were both excited about being in college together. He had just enrolled for the Spring Semester. The week of Christmas he called his girlfriend and while on the phone took an overdose of prescription anti-depressants. He mom found him the next morning.
A few years later, a girl I became acquainted with took her life a 16. She seemed to be well adjusted, smart, and attractive. But something wasn’t right.
In neither case, did I suspect anything to be wrong. And that is the point. We have no idea what is going on inside some else’s life. But I can understand.
5 years ago I was diagnosed as Paranoid schizophrenic with suicidal tendencies. I will spare you all the details but to say, I sought professional help and thankfully it got me through. And the thing about it, no one I worked with, went to church with, or even my family knew. To this day most have no idea. We may look like everything is fine, smile, laugh, and have what appears to be a good time and enjoy life. But inside something is pulling us into a dark abyss. Take time to listen when someone is being too quiet, or may suddenly stop doing the things they love. But then, sometimes, you never see it coming.


crystal butterfly September 10, 2019

I have a friend who has a 15 year old grandson that keeps saying he is going to commit suicide. Has attempted suicide. BUT... he has an IQ of 68. The state of Missouri says he has to have an IQ of at least 72 before they will give him the help he needs because they think his IQ is too low for him to understand the help he would get. This poor boy has begged them for help.

Douglas Kinney crystal butterfly ⋅ September 11, 2019

And the first thing they teach you is if a person threatens or talks about suicide to take them seriously. Sounds like the state needs some help!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.