Tempting fate... in Hot town, summery in the city - 2017

  • Sept. 8, 2019, 9:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve clicked on the new entry tab so someone is bound to need me!!

I am that ‘satisfactory’ tired. I don’t even know if that makes sense! Our garden is not huge and, when T was little, I planted a buddlea. I love them, their look and smell and I love my buddlea but it had reached over 20 feet tall and 10 feet wide so, yesterday, I did five big cuts. I chopped the various branches that were sprouting out of the ground, ensuring I left a bud or two on each. At that point my lawn was GONE. Hidden under the vast quantities of branch, leaf and purple bloom. The bees and butterflies were going nuts as their All You Can Eat buffet was hacked to the ground but, to be fair, the buddlea was on its last flowering of the summer and the majority of the flowers had turned brown and crunchy. It will be back next summer.

This morning I was up early to run my last long (Ish) run before my half marathon next week and then watch the elite races of the Great North Run. I also had a competitor tracker app so I could watch a friend go around. Then, with daughters and saws, I went out back and we cut those huge sections of buddlea bush into shorter sticks so they would fit into my car to be taken to the tip.

There was a veritable wildlife park amongst the cuttings, not just the cat who enjoyed lying in the middle of the heap but spiders of all shapes, sizes and colours, grasshoppers and ladybirds, bees and bugs that looked like leaves. It was amazing to see them all close up.

L and I managed to get two thirds of it into the car so, in the morning I will take that lot and come back to pick up the rest.

Sleep well be welcome tonight.

😴💪🏻🐝🐞🕷🦗🌳🛌


northern lights September 08, 2019

I had to google what a buddlea was and it looks so pretty! Think you’ll definitely sleep well tonight!

thesunnyabyss September 08, 2019

what a beautiful plant, sounds like it was huuuuge!!!

have a good day and good run next week!!!

Jinn September 09, 2019

Wow, they do not grow that big here ! They are little bushes and sometimes do not survive winter . I have a couple variegated ones that I grow in pots because they definitely can’t take the cold . We call them, “ Butterfly Bushes” and they are a magnet for butterflies and bees.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.