Moral Dilemma in Life After 60

  • Sept. 5, 2019, 3:12 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Two wrongs are before you and you must choose the least objectionable. Both equally wrong but which will you pick? Most likely the one that will bring the least personal pain. And so the decision is made and you must live with it for the rest of your life.
Fair Warning: The following subject may prove too offensive for some. It is not my intentions to try to persuade anyone of end of life choices, rather present my view as I had to deal with it and the aftermath.
Death is never easy. It is the final part of life and we all must deal with it. There are many different views on assisted suicide and opinions of Hospice Care. But I want to ask you what truly is the difference between the two? Both ultimately bring the same results…death.
Assisted suicide is argued against because a doctor or medical professional provides the means for a patient or their loved one to administer drugs to end their life. In simple terms, they are assisted to die.
Now let’s look at Hospice Care. It is pretty much the same. Except we label it as end of life pain management or making the patient comfortable. What it amounts to is assisted suicide. Call it what want. In most cases, the patient is sent home to die with the aid of a Morphine drip. The patient may at the beginning receive fluids or food, but as the Morphine Drip is increased to relieve the pain, it acts as an agent to eventually shut down all the organs and stop the heart. Again, in simple terms, they are assisted to die.
About 8 years ago I went through this with my 91 year old mother. At the time I made what I thought was an intelligent decision. Until I found out how Hospice really works. All I am saying here is understand fully the choice you make and be prepared to live with the consequences. I didn’t and now I am left with the pain of realizing what I did in my mind. I am not saying if you choose either you are wrong, I am just saying be prepared for what follows.


crystal butterfly September 05, 2019

Both my parents were considered hospice patients. Neither were hooked up to any medical device. Mostly it was comfort care where if they opted not to eat or drink they would not be forced to. So actually they effectively starved themselves to death. Their wishes were not violated. They were ready to go to their heavenly home.

Douglas Kinney crystal butterfly ⋅ September 06, 2019

I understand that and each case is different. They all have to be judged on their own merits. Some of us just aren't as good as dealing with the choices we make. The best we can hope for is to die in our sleep. And your parents being ready does help.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.