Beautiful late summer day in The View from the Terrace

  • Sept. 7, 2019, 9:58 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It was a beautiful day here on Thursday, hardly a cloud in the sky. Cat was doing her weight lifting and I couldn’t stay in, so I walked round to the main road and went into the charity shops. Oxfam were selling all their clothes at £1 because it is the end of the season. it feels strange to think that summer is almost over and I have spent most of it in Cardiff. I felt like treating myself so I went to a nice looking local cafe for a coffee and caramel Cookie,
crazy really, because I could see the flat from the cafe window, but I have been stuck here a lot lately and just wanted to do something for me.

I went home for two days last week. I managed to get an emergency dental appointment. My own dentist couldn’t find anything wrong either. She agreed that it could be the beginning of an infection, but since the tooth has already been root filled and has a crown, she would rather be sure before doing anything. When I told her why I had been in Cardiff she suggested I could be grinding my teeth at night because of stress and causing bruising and she is going to make me a tooth guard to see if that helps. I have to go back in two weeks.

I have managed to persuade Cat to come with us for a few days at a holiday park along the coast in Carmarthen Bay. The only vacancy they had was for September 23 so I hope the weather stays good.

Yesterday was shopping day, always a strain because Cat insists on going around 3 different supermarkets to get the best bargains. Today she is doing her weights again so I will probably be visiting the charity shops again. I came here with one book and I now have 12 if you include the cookery book that the Hare Krishna man gave us outside the supermarket a few weeks back. I am currently reading a really interesting one called The Jesus Family Tomb. It is about an archaeological discovery of a tomb in Jerusalem that could be the tomb of Jesus and his family. I am also part way through Edward Kennedy’s autobiography. I found both in the local charity shops. I wonder what I will find today.


Jinn September 07, 2019

Its always a treasure hunt in the thrift stores for me . I always find books :-) Cat has been fortunate to have you there that long !

Marg September 08, 2019

I love rummaging through the books at the charity shops!

^..^Kat September 23, 2019

I'm glad you treated yourself for a bit.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.