Two more to go. in Daily life

  • Sept. 4, 2019, 4:38 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Of work that is. They had a surprise lunch for me today which was very nice. A few weeks ago we had talked about a crock pot soup day and I had said to do it before i retired and we had tentatively said for today but nothing more was ever said. Today when I came in to work, I saw some pots and thought that I had forgotten, until one of the girls said she hoped i didn’t have lunch plans because the lunch was for me! I was so surprised, I got a bit teary eyed. There will be an “official” retirement party Friday with cake and gifts so that won’t be a surprise but you have to act like you are. They invited the criminal judges and their staff and some other court personnel. I feel funny about the whole thing especially since I am coming back part-time. Yes, it was confirmed today that I will be coming back, I will work three days a week, but it will be flexible with the court schedule and it will be doing what I do now. The judges are very happy that about that. I have to be off pay-roll 6 weeks so it looks like I will be back about the end of October. Knowing that I have a job and pretty much a set schedule has taken a weight off my mind. I fake well at work but coming home is very hard. It is hard to be motivated to do things so I am a bit apprehensive about the coming weeks and being home altho I have a list of things I want to get accomplished.

This coming Saturday I am doing a bike ride with my daughter, her boyfriend and the princesses. It is along a “rail to trails” path and is made up of two parts, first a 6 mile ride, then a stop for lunch and then a 4 miles ride. Guess that big bottle of champagne in the fridge is going to have to wait til after the ride. Don’t want to do too much celebrating Friday night or I won’t be able to do the ride!


Jinn September 04, 2019

It’s nice they are having the parties!

ConnieK September 08, 2019

That's a looong bike ride!

Queensuzu1 ConnieK ⋅ September 10, 2019

It was a lot of fun and I plan on incorporating a bike ride every day if I can altho not quite as long as that one.

ConnieK Queensuzu1 ⋅ September 10, 2019

Here I was, proud of walking for 45 minutes each day. I'm a slacker compared to you!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.