No harassment policy in Site Updates

  • March 5, 2014, 11:42 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Just a quick entry to warn people that stalking, threats, harassment, impersonation, sharing other's private information, or a general behavior of trolling and insulting behavior is not allowed on Prosebox. DO NOT PEE IN THE POOL. The offending accounts will be removed.

Thanks,

The Management


donut March 05, 2014

It's sad that you have to tell people this.

simple mind donut ⋅ March 05, 2014

Indeed.

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ March 05, 2014

This adds to your already heavy workload. Ie having to investigate every complaint so that you have enough evidences before removing the 'offending' diaries.

Deleted user March 05, 2014

i think i might've been guilty of this last night, and i repent, but i feel it was somewhat justified. i made a mild statement and was greeted with "suck my balls" in return. that's when my jimmies got rustled. i hope Captain Feck is reading this.

donut Deleted user ⋅ March 05, 2014

I just wanted to say that I love your user name! God, I miss that site.

Fawkes Gal donut ⋅ March 06, 2014

Everybody to the limit, everybody to the limit!

I miss it too!

BlueEyedDevil March 05, 2014

It IS sad that you have to tell people not to be assholes.

Deleted user March 05, 2014

I think I might have harassed myself last night, but we won't go there.

Nash Deleted user ⋅ March 05, 2014

Pictures or it didn't happen.

SweetMelissa Nash ⋅ March 05, 2014

Nash! Hahahahaha

Thomas March 05, 2014

Well said.

Deleted user March 05, 2014

thanks for being on top of these things :)

Deleted user March 05, 2014

Thank you. :)

Deleted user March 05, 2014

With a diverse of people from around the globe using this site and their value system is different, something tells me that you will be bringing this topic up a few times.

May I recommend that you add a detailed 'site usage policy' page?

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ March 05, 2014

Oh yeah, that and blocking feature are the top priorities.

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ March 06, 2014

It sounds great. Thank you.

Domino simple mind ⋅ March 06, 2014

Yeah blocking definitely needed coz sometimes you just don't want someone reading.

Deleted user Deleted user ⋅ March 06, 2014

I think being respectful is a universal term. Regardless of which part of the world one comes from, no culture propagates rudeness and immorality.

Deleted user Deleted user ⋅ March 06, 2014

I disagree. :-)

Deleted user Deleted user ⋅ March 06, 2014

really?

:)

Deleted user Deleted user ⋅ March 06, 2014

Think about it. There won't be a war if everyone is respectful and thoughtful. Which would mean, a boring history.

Deleted user Deleted user ⋅ March 06, 2014

I agree with you. But within those 'offending' cultures, they might be moulded and brainwashed to think that what they were fighting for was for good causes.

With regards to PB, I won't think it's fair to generalise that diarists from the other side of the globe (say, Asia), will surely bring (bad) differing values. That is why I mentioned that every culture raised its people to be respectful of others, irregardless IRL or online. But if I have wrongly assessed your first note, please forgive me. Sometimes I can get lost in translation ;)

Deleted user Deleted user ⋅ March 06, 2014

I got your point. I was merely trying to explain that when there is a public site like PB, you cannot assume anyone's intent. Having a well defined usage policy would help set the stag.e

No need to apologize. I understand where you come from. I enjoy a friendly bantering and differing view. I enjoy learning from others. So, thanks.

Deleted user Deleted user ⋅ March 06, 2014

Thanks :)

Reading_Blankie 📚 March 05, 2014

it's sad that you have to write this. Seriously. What is the deal with society these days? In the past I have been attacked for the things I had written in MY diary. Nothing was solved and I am glad you are going to "step up"

besides... doesn't the water turn blue if you pee in a public pool???

Indigo March 05, 2014

Thank you. There has been a lot of this going on lately and rumors about me saying things to people that I never said. Its pathetic that you have to remind people of this.

sassafras March 05, 2014

If we pee in the pool will it turn the water purple? ;)

Sparklepants sassafras ⋅ March 07, 2014

I want purple pee!

Deleted user March 05, 2014

Duh!!! People are funny cretures.

Jersey_Mama March 05, 2014

It's ashame that people need reminders of this. Just so I am clear, I am allowed to still curse right? There is a trucker in me that just can't hold back. :::winks:::

Starhawk March 05, 2014

If you want a moderator to take some of the load off you as far as harassment-reporting goes -- let me know.

SweetMelissa March 05, 2014

I love the notes on your entries almost as much as I love the entries.

H. Majesty T. Mudfish Queen SweetMelissa ⋅ March 05, 2014

I know, I do too. I don't really care so much to read everyone's comments on other people's journals but every time I come here to read something I have to read the comments....

They are funny!

Deleted user March 05, 2014

Busted again! I'll stop harassing and trolling other users immediately. Mostly. Maybe. I'll try.

Rogue March 05, 2014

I HATE it when people pee in the pool. Can we make it where the water turns blue when they do? :)

Darling V March 05, 2014

It is sad that you have to tell people this and that they don't just have the courtesy, but I'm glad this is a thing. It keeps people feeling comfortable with what they're writing and not so worried that somebody is going to harass them for what they say.

•kitkat• March 05, 2014

Too bad there isn't a way to sort out true harassment vs. people claiming they're being harassed by people who aren't harassing them at all.

Leanne 🌈 March 05, 2014

I agree with the above comment .... I hope SM you are covering ALL your bases here.

Seriously you need to be fair with all of us on here.

Justlovely March 05, 2014

As we say on all my Facebook groups when we join, "Agree".

BentnotBroken March 05, 2014

Did you put that chemical in the pool that turns bright blue when you pee in it? Aw hell,I thought I was finally turning into a Smurf!!

Deleted user March 05, 2014

I feel like I missed something

Sharee March 05, 2014

I know you're working for the CIA They wouldn't have you in the Ma-fi-A

Deleted user March 05, 2014

Thanks for taking care of this place, especially putting up the warnings. In OD last time, complaints were made against harassers but there's nothing much the Admin could do except advising to block. Alternatively people 'surrendered' by 'hiding' in friends-only diaries, and the harassers won.

Loki March 05, 2014

  • ugh! And THIS is why I avoid pools. . . -shudders uncontrollably-
Deleted user March 05, 2014

It's beyond stupid you need to tell adults this, we are not in high school.

Loki Deleted user ⋅ March 05, 2014

  • some of the PBers might be still in HS =P
.Java.Junkie. Loki ⋅ March 05, 2014

Can I get an AMEN!

Loki .Java.Junkie. ⋅ March 05, 2014

  • xD
Deleted user .Java.Junkie. ⋅ March 05, 2014

Amen!!! Lol

H. Majesty T. Mudfish Queen March 05, 2014

I think some people will confuse an arguement or disagreement with "harrassment" which will take up a lot of your time but it's nice to know you're looking out for your members.

I have total faith you know the difference between people communicating and people harrassing. As some people are worried about.

Thank you SM.

kiki March 05, 2014

Niiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiice.

Deleted user March 05, 2014

Have you thought of deputizing some people to assist you in handling complaints or moderation kind of issues? Maybe some hall monitor types, people you know personally?

Deleted user March 05, 2014

Just say no to bridge-dwelling, Machiavellian sadists.

Linda March 05, 2014

Thank you for this. I hope you aren't called to enforce it too often.

hoops March 05, 2014

Fuck that shit, dude! I am here to stalk James Ensor and I'm not afraid to say it! And I encourage everyone else to stalk him too! Also: I hereby physically threaten to pee in James Ensor's pool! And if he doesn't have a pool, then I threaten to pee in his bathtub! And if he doesn't have a bathtub, I will pee on his pillows! You've been threatened Ensor!!!!!!

Loki hoops ⋅ March 05, 2014

  • just pee in his eye ;]
Etoile Filante hoops ⋅ March 06, 2014

One time I peed on his pillow. It was awesome.

QueSeraSera March 05, 2014

i can not believe this is starting up yet again! very sad!!!!!!!

Brooksee March 05, 2014

Some people have nothing better to do in life. Pretty sad.

Deleted user March 05, 2014

I don't understand why there is no block feature yet. Is this to be available soon?

J.E. March 06, 2014

huh huh you said pee

Deleted user March 06, 2014

You always get many many notes in your entries

envious

:)

Nash Deleted user ⋅ March 06, 2014

Here is a note for you! It is good to see you over here and such an avid supporter of Prosebox.

Deleted user Nash ⋅ March 06, 2014

Hahaha lolol!

Thanks ;)

Deleted user Nash ⋅ March 06, 2014

Hee.

Krud March 06, 2014

Welcome to roseBox. Notice there's no P in it. Let's keep it that way.

(Actually, that would be confusing, please don't use that idea.)

offmychest March 06, 2014

thank you!

BentnotBroken March 06, 2014

I'm still confused. When is the pool party, and is it surfboard optional?

Deleted user March 06, 2014

i just had a rather lengthy exchange with an user wherein she repeatedly insulted me and i continued to reply despite her injunction to "GO AWAY" because she had offended me and i have just as much of a right to defend myself as she does to have her mistaken perception of me in the first place. does this fall under the heading of harassment?

Deleted user March 06, 2014

the way i'm going to deal with trolls or people who get angry at me for no good reason, is to delete their comments from my entries, at least until blocking/ignore gets put in place. i think if everyone did that whoever was leaving the offensive comment would lose interest pretty quickly. will user blocking include not seeing their entries on the front page, or would that be a separate potential future? i'd like to be able to prevent people from leaving comments on my entries--i don't care if they can still read them--but i'd be equally happy with not even having certain people in my life in any way, shape, or form.

Deleted user March 06, 2014

btw the only reason i am impelled to leave comments that may be construed as offensive is that these people are splayed all over the front page. this is a community, and if i feel people are hurting the community i think i should be able to either reply or have them not show up in recent entries according to each user's preferences.

TechnoKitten March 06, 2014

I haven't had any problems so far. Granted I haven't been here a long time. But its nice to know idiots will be taken care of!

Deleted user March 07, 2014

This should go without saying.

HarleyBabe March 07, 2014

Ah man, but trolling is so fun! I'll behave here. I promise. I will leave trolling to the other parts of the interw3b.

nightborn March 07, 2014

Can't wait for the block feature! :)

Deleted user March 07, 2014

You need a way to report people who are harassing you, stalking you, bullying you, etc. I've been stalked and harassed before simply because I made less money than the person. Whenever you get to making an option to block people, please make it free and not part of a paid member's package. I had bullies and stalkers on OD and no matter how much I reported them, they kept bullying me and I couldn't just simply block them because I didn't have the money for a membership.

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ March 07, 2014

Good news is that blocking is coming soon, and it's a free feature.

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ March 08, 2014

Thank you!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.