Don't be a d!ck in The Reselling Life

  • Aug. 22, 2019, 4:44 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

A little back story.

I have been putting about 20 listings on auction a week just to kind of get rid of some old/stale inventory. I don’t care if it sells for $1, chances are I’m still making some money on it and it’s getting out of my house.

So normally, people pay rather quickly. But sometimes they don’t - after 48 hours you can open an Unpaid Item Case - basically just like a hey - if you don’t pay this within so many days then it’s getting relisted and you lose.

So this happened to an auction this week, soon after the case was opened she paid. So when I went to ship her top this morning, I see this lovely little note attached to her payment:

Buyer’s note: Really? After two days? You are ridiculous. Most of us work and have family so we dont sit on the phone or computer.

I’m sorry? How long am I supposed to wait? Sure, let me just let these pile up and not take any action. It literally takes 30 seconds to log on and pay for something.

I responded, because I just HAD to respond:
Hi, I just saw your note regarding the unpaid item case. I just wanted to give you a head’s up that since I have so many items, I have it so it’s automated through Ebay to open a case after 48 hours of no payment. I usually send a reminder 24 hours after as well. I also have a family - so I get it, if you were to contact me and let me know you needed more time then I could have turned that off for you. Regardless, your top will be on your way to you today, I hope you enjoy it!

So I tried to be nice, but also like a you don’t have to be such an ass about it. God forbid you’re expected to pay for your item in a timely manner.

So this bothered me most of the day because why do you have to be so mean?

It was very tempting to not include a note along the lines of ‘Hope you’re having a better day today.’ but I resisted.


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.