Since Days of Underoos in Magical Realism

  • March 4, 2014, 1:41 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I can't believe it's March already - last week went by in kind of a blur. I was not looking forward to it but had to head to Texas for work. I had a 10am flight on Wednesday and actually got to Laguardia 1.5 hours early, which I pretty much never do. Went through security, then got sliced fruit and two hard-boiled eggs for breakfast. It's probably a psychological thing, but I like to megadose myself with vitamin C before flights so I also got one of those Bai 5 antioxidant drinks (ipanema pomegranate) and nursed it while watching people walk past me in the terminal. Exciting times.

Slept the whole way there, then proceeded to work like a crazy person the next few ways. Everything went smoothly which was unexpected but much welcomed. Woke up Saturday morning with everything done, had hardboiled eggs and fruit again for breakfast, got back on flight, slept all the way back to JFK. Took subway home. It was so good to see A again. I got home around 5pm and was asleep in his arms by 6pm - we slept straight through until 8am the next morning. I felt surprisingly good so we headed out to the early rowing circuit class, which we almost never make.

Great class, and the instructor even played a dance remix of "Let it Go." Woohoo. I love me some Adele Azeem. Went home and got showered after class, then went to see an apartment for sale. It was nice, but right now everything just seems so imperfect/expensive. I probably need to get my head around the current market pricing - crazy to think but it's been almost 10 years since I bought my apartment.

It's so frustrating though, every place I like seems to get snatched away by some faceless "all cash buyer." Who are these people who have so much cash lying around? We talked about it and I guess if I wanted I could mortgage my current apartment and combine with my savings to be an "all cash buyer" I could, but it just seems like such a pain in the ass and strictly a matter of optics.

Walked around for a bit and grabbed late brunch at the White Horse Tavern. Should have sticked to drinks, the food wasn't the best, not sure if I'd ever eaten there before, come to think of it. Did some grocery shopping, went home and puttered around for a while.

Monday was frustrating and now here it is, Tuesday. Happy Mardi Gras! In honor of the occasion I am wearing a purple dress (okay, black cherry purple, but still.) I hope this Lenten season brings us all good things - self refection, focus, and a bit of fun.


dickson. March 04, 2014

Deleted user March 04, 2014

Ugh.. the dreaded "all cash buyer"! Between that, and the fact that nearly everything we have ever considered purchasing in Los Angeles ends up selling for "well over asking" it drives me nuts.

I just cant compete with the current market as it is (at least in places like Southern CA, NYC, and the like).

sarahbaby. March 04, 2014

I don't think comfort has the same tyrannical hold on you that it does on me.

nightborn March 04, 2014

Ahaha Adele Azeem. :)

I feel you on the all cash buyer. It's like an epidemic in DC these days. Where are all these people getting so much cash?! I feel like I save more than 90% of my friends, and still I don't have enough cash to buy in the city outright. Maybe like a teeny closet-sized (under 200sq ft) studio... Are you thinking different neighborhood/bigger place? Just wondering what the moving motivation is. :)

Satine nightborn ⋅ March 04, 2014

I would also like a bigger place with outdoor space/space to entertain...I have these visions of awesome dinner parties that A and I host. Dare to dream!

BlueEyedDevil March 04, 2014

The 'all cash buyer' is ruining a lot of first time homebuyers' plans here in San Diego too.

banker chick March 04, 2014

Adele Azeem... Hahahaha!

Bluesea March 05, 2014

Ha, I was going to be super surprised if you were wearing a bright purple dress. Black cherry purple sounds so much more like you.

dancerd March 08, 2014

Good luck on the house or apartment hunt.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.