The "Pink House" Claymar Motel Pueblo,CO in Tales of the Jointed Track

  • Sept. 6, 2019, 6:03 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This is the Downtown Motel, then the Claymar. The railroad put us up there. This was and odd layout The left of the lobby was two floors then the building took a left hand turn. On the right hand side, was two floors and like a horseshoe shaped design. Within the horseshoe were a couple of tucked in rooms. The Pink House, as we called it was also incorporated off the right side horseshoe, but a separated building. It also was two storied, and about 5 rooms. If ya got the Pink House, you had two keys, one to access the House proper, then your room key. The outside of the Pink House was a pink and light yellow siding.. LOL .

A funny thing with the Pink House , as you went up to the upper level, there was a step down, to the “door”. That was a small apartment. I believe, that this was, at one time, for the owners. One of the desk clerks, rented that area.

Was this a palace? NO.. a Motel, and 90% of the clientele, was the Santa Fe men. At one time the Rio Grande housed here as well.

Pink House:
As railroaders, we had “our” favorite rooms. Mine was 115-116-117-118. The Pink House was my least favorite, “TILL”, DUH I found out it was quiet. Room 138 , a nice room.

Late Spring Pink House Room 138:
What can spring give, or to come? The Claymar was full of crews, and those rooms getting cleaned. I got in at 700 am off a drag. I am beat, and I don’t care. “Bob, I have 138 at the Pink House”. Gimme the key. Okay, when was this last occupied? Stuffy, Hot, but Air Conditioning and open windows. I am off, soon to the land of Nod. The room has cooled due to open windows and the “Air”. Okay, I awake about 500 pm, to a full blown Thunderstorm and Heavy Rain. I call the crew caller, second out about, 800 pm. I will get a coal empty up the main for 945 pm. Rain is pounding. I’ll find my way to eat something before the call.

Life on the Away from Home Terminal.


MageB September 11, 2019

I wish you had pictures of these Motels. :)

Brakeshoe Bob September 11, 2019

Lemme look LOL

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.