Heat rashes or measles? in Testing.... testing... 1, 2, 3...

  • March 3, 2014, 11:13 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

My son just get sent out of daycare. Following his fever last week, which he recovered from fast, he started getting heat rashes on Saturday. Well we were told from our pediatrician's nurse's line that it's most likely heat rashes. Apparently it's common after a baby fights a virus that induced a fever. This was confirmed by other mothers we know

So my wife had to leave work, which was her first day at a new office she was transferred to with a 5.5% raise, to pick him up from daycare. She set up an appointment later today to get him tested for measles. Hopefully it's just the heat rash, and he'll get a doctor's note that it's okay he's in daycare

If not, he'll have to stay home for 3 days. Given it's month end close for me and my wife is starting at a new office (the dental company's #1 office, so it's always busy), that'll put us in quite a pickle. Hopefully we could get help from my mom or aunt in that scenario

Oh and after she picked him up, the daycare had to put up signs saying a child there may have had the measles so test your kids. Way to ostricize us! haha

moral of the story: What doesn't kill you makes you stronger. My 9-week-old (technically as of tomorrow) son's immune system is getting tested early. If you're financially able for a parent to stay at home with a baby, I'd recommend it. Groups of kids inside one building is just a germ/virus nesting area! (my son has only been there 2 weeks)

Have a Nice Day!


Thalisa March 03, 2014

My son got RSV within a couple of weeks of going into daycare, when I went back to work. They are nasty, filthy places!

It sounds like you at least have family around. We were an hour and change from my ex's family (and I wouldn't have left him with them to start with, chain smoking in the damn house) and about 9 hours from mine.

I hope your kiddo gets better soon.

Foley is Good! Thalisa ⋅ March 04, 2014

Thanks! My parents and aunt are an hour away also. We rotate weekends of us bringing him to them and them visiting us. My wife's parents and aunt are 5 minutes away, but we're estranged from them because they never help or care, haha

Have a Nice Day!

Deleted user March 03, 2014

Wow, that's a tough kid. You and your wife are taking it well though. Normally, the mother would be overly concerned and take a month off to take care of her precious baby. Then the kid grows up to be a mamma's boy.

Cathy March 03, 2014

RYN: RYN: That is really good to know. :-D Since we are now feeling like maybe we shouldn't be going, it's good to know it will be worth it.

Foley is Good! Cathy ⋅ March 04, 2014

Which island are y'all going on? We went to Oahu. We live an hour from a beach (if Galveston, TX counts as having beaches, haha) and visited California. My wife has even been to Florida. Nothing comares to Hawaii. We always talk about visiting there again, and bringing our kids

Have a Nice Day!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.