Slide in General

  • Aug. 4, 2019, 4:45 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Twenty years ago I was in the middle of the Pacific ocean. Somewhere between Sandog and Hawaii. The early summer I had spent the weekends in the BOQ at the Amphib base on North Island. No way in hell I was going to ever listen to a band called “Goo Goo Dolls.”

And. Yet I did.

When I think back on those days, all I have is feelings. I was good at my job. I sucked at relationships. I liked pretty.

I had no idea who May was. Being in love with love has cost me through my lifetime.

This song makes me think San Diego. That fifth floor BOQ room. The pacific ocean. And what the fuck was I doing with my life.
Still haven’t sorted that one out.

The most hilarious aspect of my life remains that I could meet a stripper tomorrow. And marry her. And I will have not learned a single lesson in this life. Because I am addicted to pretty.

And I’ll do anything you ever dreamed to be complete
Little pieces of the nothing that fall
Oh, May
Put your arms around me
What you feel is what you are
And what you are is beautiful
Oh, May
Do you wanna get married, or run away?


woman in the moon August 04, 2019 (edited August 04, 2019)

Edited

Nice to see your name show up on my list. Today!!!! I listened to Joe Sestak, a retired 3 star admiral from the carrier part of the US Navy. He is foolishly, yet cunningly, running for President. I didn't get to meet him, he disappeared too soon, but he came all the way to my little corner of Iowa (of course) and gave a really good speech. He has no chance of course but he's quite good.

I have this appreciation for military people, I've been spending a lot of time with my brother who after Army infantry in Vietnam, joined the Navy reserve - so he would have a bed to sleep in and not have to carry a gun - mostly it worked except he was called up after 9-11 and trained to be a cop in your Washington state part of the navy, then guarded a base in Japan. He's had a lot of other adventures and can tell stories well and long.
Sestak appears to have stories of his own. He talked about trust and as an example when a plane is ready to take off from a carrier and can't and has to be disconnected from the catapult. Someone crawls under the plane to do it and then walks in front of the plane to prove he has done it. I am not telling the story well, but I appreciated hearing it.

Pintador August 05, 2019

Like a moth to the flame...what can you do? 😏.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.