Inspiration and Other Things in Ultimate Randomness

  • March 3, 2014, 1:39 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I do intend for this to be a fairly short entry and for good reason. Because shortly, I plan on adding my first entry into my third book, Writings. Somehow, I felt a little inspired to return to a story I have been working on and adding to for years. It was a story I started working on in pieces back in 2002 when I took my first creative writing course. Somehow, I made all these little individual assignments fit together into the first part of a sci-fi fantasy story about a guy who has to travel across dimension and time to retrieve a small group of people and use their combined powers to stop a madman hell-bent on destroying all of humanity across time and space. Yeah, I know it sounds kinda cheesy but what I had written was not too bad. The story itself earned me a B+ in my second creative writing class. Problem is, I write best when I am angry or sad but also somewhat motivated. So the story has gone untouched for the better part of the last decade. Lately, I have made to add to it. I was never totally happy with the beginning and, with recent events, I believe I know how to start the story better. It seem appropriate to work on it again since most of the inspiration the last time around came from my last break-up. With this new one, i think I can evolve my characters a bit. Admittedly, the story shares alot of my feelings and the characters very closely match up with people, but they always say write what you know and what I usually know better than anything is myself. But as I was saying, I do intend to see if I can work on my story on here and maybe get some constructive feedback. It may come in slow little doses, but hopefully it can be my masterpiece one day. Anyway, the other personal part of this is much shorter. As much as I enjoy not being suicidal, depression has one benefit: it is wonderful at lowering one's libido. This was not very useful in my relationship but it would do me well now. However, with my medication, I do not get anywhere near as depressed. It is nice to be happy, but the increased libido is most inconvenient now without an outlet. Well, except for gold membership in the Band of the Hand. The upside are the videos we had made, and that usually does it for me, but it is a poor substitute for the real thing, which I am not getting and have no prospect of getting for some time, unless I luck into either the perfect person or the wife's relationship going south, neither of which seems likely anytime soon. I guess I just miss being close to someone. It does more for me and my mood than anything else. Well, one day it will all come together...or I will be a bitter old guy still writing here but my story will be finished. Either way, on to the story....


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.