CCC in Just me!

  • July 30, 2019, 11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So, here’s a brief report on last week at Carolina Cross Connection. That ministry truly is my heart. This was my 8th year participating.

We arrived on Sunday. Bill and I took 3 youth from our small church. We were told where we were going to sleep (same rooms as last year) and went to get our cots set up and get our belongings situated. Then we had free time for a couple of hours, which gave me time to catch up with staff members (college students) and other campers I know from previous years. I love the people I’ve met, so it was truly a blessing for me.

After some get acquainted activities, we got our Christian Mission Groups divided up for the week, then had dinner.As we we would each night, we had small group for our church group and then worship. I was so happy that two siblings of a staffer I knew were there and were put with our small group. They had come when there openings at the last minute, not with a church group.

Each morning we had breakfast, morning devotions and then went out to do our jobs. My group made a porch and steps for a very sweet couple. It was interesting doing that (it was a 2-day job), and it was a bit messy. It rained a LOT on Tuesday, so we had to put up tarps and cut the wood under cover and then skitter out in the mud to put the pieces together. I love using the power tools, so it was GREAT.

The next 2 days we had painting/yard work jobs and the weather was nice. It’s always so nice to meet the homeowners and share God’s love with them.

Friday is always a half-day job, and ours was really quick and easy this year. We helped with some back to school prep for the middle school where we were camped out. Then we had a free afternoon to join another CMG for shopping and do some shopping. Our group also played a wild game of mini golf. I don’t know when I’ve laughed so much!

Our CMG was so lovely! We had a wonderful time all week, and I just love them so much. I’m sure I’ll stay in touch with them as I have others I’ve worked with through the years.

I know I’m getting older, but I hope I have a lot of strong years to continue this ministy. It’s so important!


crystal butterfly July 31, 2019

I know there were many people blessed because your group was there.

hotjavy crystal butterfly ⋅ August 01, 2019

I think so! It was a wondeful time.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.